Slow Cooker Shredded Pork Tacos

I’ve been on a HUGE cilantro kick recently. There’s just something about the flavor combination of fresh cilantro and lime that makes me go crazy!

Anyways, I recently made some Thai Beef Tacos with Pineapple Jalapeño Salsa from one of my favorite food blogs, How Sweet Eats. They were DELICIOUS!! Never mind that I made the marinade at 6:30am and my hands smelled like fresh ginger and cilantro the rest of the day. WORTH it.

For the next week after that all I wanted to do was eat fresh tacos on corn tortillas. And I kind of did:)

I had a pork loin I needed to use and decided to do whatever I could to make it fit my “everything needing to be in a taco and smothered with cilantro” phase.

I marinated this baby overnight, threw it in the crockpot in the morning and shredded it with 2 forks.

And once again… I was thrilled that my husband REALLY liked it! He almost never eats leftovers (except for our favorite baked chicken) and we ate this for THREE nights in a row. He even asked for it! Egads!!!!!

In my opinion, the best part about these tacos are the toppings. We had my sweet sister in law and her kiddos over for dinner when I served these and I set up bowls with rice, mild salsa, guacamole, and extra cilantro.

Guacamole makes the world go ’round.

I apologize that I don’t have a picture then. These are from eating them the next night… or maybe the night after that… hard to remember:)

Pork Tacos

makes enough for 14 small size corn tortilla tacos (6+ servings)

Ingredients for Marinade:

  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1 jalapeño, chopped (the seeds are the spicy part, so discard or use them at your discretion!)
  • 3-4 handfuls of fresh cilantro
  • 2-3 lb. Pork loin or butt
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1/2 t. pepper
  • 2 t. ancho chili pepper
  • 1/2 – 1 t. cumin
  • 1 1/2 t. minced garlic
  • 3 T. lime juice
  • 3 T. Extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 t. crushed red pepper

Ingredients for tacos:

  • Olive oil
  • Corn tortillas
  • Cooked rice
  • Guacamole
  • Salsa
  • Chopped onions
  • Cilantro

Directions:

  1. Chop your onion and jalapeño. Chop or tear your cilantro – whatever your preference. Set aside.
  2. Place your pork in a large ziploc bag. Sprinkle salt, pepper, chili powder and cumin all over. Add garlic, lime juice, olive oil, crushed red pepper. Add in onion, jalapeño and cilantro.
  3. Close bag and give it a nice massage to get the flavors to combine a bit. Stick the bag in the refrigerator overnight. Feel free to massage it whenever you walk by the fridge, but no biggie if you can’t.
  4. In the morning, pour the ingredients into your crockpot. Cook on high for 4 hours or low 8-10 hours.
  5. When done cooking, use 2 forks to shred the meat. Use a slotted spoon to get the pork meat into a bowl to serve.
  6. Make rice, if desired.
  7. To make tacos, heat corn tacos in a large nonstick skillet with a very small amount of olive oil until each side becomes a bit brown and bubbly.
  8. Serve with the toppings. My preferred order is rice, meat, guacamole, a couple extra chopped onions and a lot of cilantro. Yum!
About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Domesticity and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Add to the conversation...

