Buckeye Bark

IMG_4638This has been on my to-bake list since last Christmas and I JUST got around to doing it… I don’t know what took me so long! This recipe was just like I hoped it would be– easy and delicious! My husband and I were stealing pieces until it disappeared:)

IMG_4640

I utterly LOVE the traditional buckeyes but man they take a lot of time and effort. I feel like it’s a “play” recipe where you take half the day and listen to Christmas music or have friends over and roll and dip to your favorite Christmas movie.

IMG_4639

This bark? It’s the same chocolately peanut buttery flavors and textures but about 1/4 of the time (or less?)

IMG_4642

Two things I will mention:

  1. 1. Let the peanut butter layer set up in the freezer before you pour the last chocolate layer on. (OR just leave plenty of time in the freezer after all layers are done for them to form together well.) The chocolate hardens quickly and the peanut butter layer takes a little longer so if you take them out early it will break unevenly and the peanut butter layer will be gooey (still good though!)
  2. 2. We stored ours in the freezer because #1. I think storing in the fridge would be fine but I would hesitate to store at room temperature for more than while serving.
  3. IT IS DELICIOUS. You still have a few days before Christmas! Make this!

IMG_4636

Buckeye Bark

15- 20 minutes hands on time
90 minutes inactive time

As seen on Live Sigma Kappa, originally from Big Red House

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups chocolate chips, divided
  • 1 16 oz jar (2 cups) of creamy peanut butter (do not use natural peanut butter)
  • 2 c Confectioners’ sugar
  • 8 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Prepare a large rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper. Set aside.
  2. Melt 2 cups of chocolate chips by your desired means. I usually use the microwave. Microwave for about 45 seconds and then stir vigorously. Microwave for about 30 more seconds (or 45-50 seconds on 60%). Stir vigorously. If you still need more time, pop it in for 10 seconds or so. Chocolate can EASILY burn in the microwave so it’s much better to do short increments.
  3. Pour chocolate on prepared baking sheet and using the back of a spoon or a spatula, spread to a thin layer. Place pan in freezer to harden up for about 10-15 minutes.
  4. While the bottom layer chocolate is hardening, it’s time to make the middle layer– the “buckeye center!” In a large bowl, beat together peanut butter, powdered sugar, melted butter and vanilla until combined. Take pan out of freezer and make sure the bottom layer of chocolate had hardened. Using a spatula spread peanut butter mixture over chocolate layer. Put in freezer for 30-45 minutes.
  5. When it is hardened enough, melt the remaining 2 cups of chocolate chips and spread on top of the peanut butter layer. Put in freezer to harden and let bark harden together for about 30-45 minutes.
  6. Break and serve! Store in freezer or refrigerator.
About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Adoption, Husband and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Buckeye Bark

  1. Kate says:

    Sounds amazing. Personal fact that is probably only interesting to me: I grew up in Indiana but my grandma was from Ohio. She made buckeyes a lot when I was a kid, but her recipe includes rice krispies. It wasn’t until I moved here that I discovered that the typical Ohio buckeye was smooth and not crunchy! Have you ever heard of putting rice krispies in them? Just curious. Of course I prefer my grandma’s recipe. :)

    • jackielopina says:

      I have actually had them before!! I prefer the traditional smooth but I think (like most things) it’s probably what you’re used to! Try to add Rice Krispies in these guys– can’t be too complicated right??

Add to the conversation...

