Easter Lunch/ Dinner

I had the pleasure of having my family spend Easter with us – they came to church with us and then came over for a yummy meal. I promise I don’t usually do this (usually all my recipes are from allrecipes.com), but this year all my sides were Pioneer Woman recipes. (if you’ve never been to her site – please click here immediately!) Here is my lovely family – parents, my brother and his wife and baby Sophia and me and my hubby.

Here was our appetizer: Stuffed Mushrooms, Baby! And my sister in law made yummy deviled eggs.

Here was our dinner.

Honey Baked Ham courtesy of the honey baked ham store:) (I got a 5 pounder… BIG GUY!!! But PERFECT because for the next 2 days I will be cooking with it! Ham sandwiches on buttered hawaiian rolls on Monday and then After Easter Black Bean Soup on Tuesday- made with my new immersion blender of course – and some yummy ham)

Buttered Rosemary Rolls (these were PHENOMENAL!!! I just used Bob Evans freezer rolls and baked them in the pan…. so much buttery deliciousness…i wish i was eating one right now…)

Roasted Garlic and New Potatoes (And yes – I did put 7 whole heads of garlic in here… and maybe i ate a whole head by myself?!? But i do have a bunch of leftover roasted garlic. My family was making fun of me but hey! I’m going to have fresh roasted garlic to add into all kinds of good stuff for the next week or so!! I’m stoked!)

Oven Roasted Asparagus (Confession – due to the timing of the potatoes/ rolls cooking, i just made these in a steamer bag. So easy and still so good!)

My mama is a celiac (intolerant to flour or wheat gluten), so she made dessert – angel food cake and strawberries! yum! And I may have cut up some of Joythebaker’s Peanut Butter Blondies with Milk Chocolate Frosting for additional treatage:) (they taste like little Reese’s peanut butter eggs! No – better!!!)

This Easter I got to reflect a lot. On how easy it is for me to be selfish and wrapped up in my own life and my own problems. When GOD – the Creator of the universe has so much more that he is doing than my narrow eyes can see. And when i was dead – literally my soul was dead – in my sin, he rescued me. Not because of anything I had done, but because of his great love and mercy.  So much of my life is me robbing God of the glory that He is deserved. I so easily give honor to created things instead of the Creator- think highly of myself, put my hope in other people or in good things he could do – when He deserves it ALL!! He is holy and mighty and good! I pray that this week and always, I can turn my eyes upon Jesus, the author and perfector of our faith.

“And you were dead in the trespasses and sins in which you once walked, following the course of this world, following the prince of the power of the air, the spirit that is now at work in the sons of disobedience— among whom we all once lived in the passions of our flesh, carrying out the desires of the body and the mind, and were by nature children of wrath, like the rest of mankind.  But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ—by grace you have been saved— and raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, so that in the coming ages he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus. For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God”

Ephesians 2:1-8

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cooking, Domesticity, Family, Holidays, Jesus, Pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

Add to the conversation...

