Sorrowful, yet always rejoicing…

I had another post raring to go for today… but my soul was calling out for something more. Recently, I have known so many who are suffering and have experienced loss. The amazing thing is how they cling to Jesus in the midst of it, looking to him for comfort and trusting that he is who He says he is. I love when I hear my brothers and sisters in Christ, crying through heartache, clinging to the promise that Jesus is good, He is merciful, He provides and He alone is our treasure. Sandra McCracken has a new album and I absolutely LOVE the title track “in feast or fallow.”  (I scoured for the lyrics, but alas could not find them… so hopefully my understanding is close, please be patient with me.) I just feel like it grasps that truth – whether we’re in plenty or in want, joyful or sorrowful, God always provides, he is always in control and he is always merciful and good. Friends that are suffering, hoping you find comfort in our loving Father

When the fields are dry and the winter is long

Blessed are the meek, the hungry, the poor

When my soul is downcast and my voice has no song

For mercy, for comfort, I wait on the Lord

In the harvest feast or the fallow ground

My certain hope is in Jesus found

My light, my cup, my portion sure

Whatever comes we shall endure

Whatever comes we shall endure

On a cross of wood his blood was outpoured

He rose from the ground like a bird to the sky

Bringing peace to our violence and crushing death’s door

Our Maker, Incarnate, our God who provides

In the harvest feast or the fallow ground

My certain hope is in Jesus found

My light, my cup, my portion sure

Whatever comes we shall endure

Whatever comes we shall endure

Emmanual,

Come,

Oh Come

Emmanual

When the earth beneath me crumbles and quakes

Not a sparrow falls nor a hair from my head

Without His hand to guide me, my shield and my strength

In joy, in sorrow, in life or in death

In the harvest feast or the fallow ground

My certain hope is in Jesus found

My light, my cup, my portion sure

Whatever comes , Whatever comes, Whatever comes we shall endure

Whatever comes we shall endure


About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Friends, Jesus, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sorrowful, yet always rejoicing…

  1. Kelly says:

    Oooohhh I love it… !! Love, love, love it. And love you;)

  2. Kelly says:

    Also, I’m now playing the song over and over while I’m sitting at my desk at work. That’s normal, right?

    • Jackie says:

      i’m SO glad you like it. Also – thats totally what I did all day driving around yesterday… so we can tell ourselves it’s normal:)

  3. Pingback: Top posts of 2010 « Reflecting on what God has done

Add to the conversation...

