Oh, I just put it in my banana pudding bowl

That’s how my mom answered when I asked her what kind of dish to put her homemade, layered, delectable banana pudding. Who the heck has a special dish for banana pudding?!? My Mom – the amazing baker she is – that’s who! She always made this when we were growing up and recently I had a craving and had to nab the recipe for her. And yes – it did totally bring me back to my childhood… a time where i wore swimsuits all day and sold lemonade and ate way too much cookie dough. Isn’t it weird how things can do that?!?

You should totally make this recipe.  I don’t even LIKE pudding but I LOVE this!

My Sweet Mama’s Banana Pudding

3 eggs, well beaten

¾ cup sugar (or less)

1 & ½ tsp. vanilla

dash salt

6 Tbsp. flour (1/4 c. + 2 T.)

2 & ½ c. milk ( I used skim and it was fine!)

3 Tbsp. butter

4 bananas

vanilla wafers

1.  Mix ingredients up well (in top of double boiler or on stove top) – Start with a whisk and then use a wooden spoon.

2.  Stir constantly while cooking (literally – if you don’t, your eggs could cook and become scrambled eggs… GROSS!) over boiling water until thickened – about 6-8 minutes (I didn’t have a double boiler, so just made mine on the stove top on medium).  Let cool slightly while you cut up the bananas.

3.  Then put a layer of vanilla wafers in bottom of dish with sliced bananas on top, then pudding; then repeat.  I usually like to have about 3 layers, ending with wafers, but it’s up to you. You could make it a deep 8×8 pan or in a big corningware dish.  Next time I make it, I’ll put it in my bigger corningware dish – this one was a little full;)

Makes about 6-8 servings.

+

+

=

DIVINE.

It tastes better than it looks, people.

 

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Domesticity, Pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oh, I just put it in my banana pudding bowl

  1. Jess says:

    I’ve tried similar recipies at least fifty times (I do love pudding. And I remember this recipe from potlucks as a kid) and each time I’ve made it it has been a flop…. I’m thinking I should try again with your recipe :). I’ll keep you posted :)

  2. brittany says:

    yum! i’m going to have to make that Jackie! hope your having a great week!

Add to the conversation...

