Seeing tiny glimpses of God’s big world

Snorkeling was AMAZING. Incredible. I kind of feel like my words cannot do it justice. I took a few pictures from a (non digital) underwater camera. When we get home I’ll develop them and if any of them are any good, I’ll put them up:)

But back to snorkeling.

It was my first time – ever. And even before I saw anything I loved the strange, free feeling you have from being able to breathe underwater… I came up a few times at first, my mind habitually thinking I needed to come out of the water to breathe. I loved the way I could clearly see the underwater world and hear my rhythm of breathing in my ears. The whole contraption is a little bit crazy that someone could come up with it if you ask me, but I digress.

It was AMAZING! Breath taking. Literally. I was in shock at the beauty.

The coral, the beautifully colored fish, it was just incredible. From the second I started it led me to praise. Our God – the God who created me and loves me – HIS hand made all of this.  All of this coral, each of these different species of fish. It sounds dumb, but I just don’t think about the world under the sea. It reminded me how vast God is. And here we are in a couple small bays. He has an amazing under water world through this whole world!! AND on the earth AND up in the sky.

“All creatures of our God and King, lift up your voice and with us sing, oh praise Him, hallelujah!”

And in light of all of that, I felt so small. It was a beautiful, humbling feeling. It’s so easy for me to get caught up in myself. God is doing SO much more than I could ever imagine. He is Creator of the World. He is completely sovereign. He rules over the fish of the sea and the birds of the air. And over you and me. How humbling. And it leads me to praise.

“For the Lord is a great God, and a great King above all gods. In his hand are the depths of the earth; the heights of the mountains are his also. The sea is his, for he made it, and his hands formed the dry land. O come let us worship and bow down; let us kneel before the Lord, our Maker!”

Psalm 95:3-6

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Jesus, Vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Seeing tiny glimpses of God’s big world

  1. Kelly says:

    That sounds amazing! I love it that God is allowing you to tangibly see his Word come to life! Just hearing about it leads me to worship – can’t wait to see your pics:)

  2. glad you are having such an amazing time!

  3. Pingback: Mother’s Day. « Reflecting on what God has done

  4. Pingback: Hawaii Ornaments « Reflecting on what God has done

  5. Pingback: More Hawaiian Fun « Hoping in God

Add to the conversation...

