Killing Sin

Sometimes when I think about killing a particular sin that has a foot hole in my life it can seem as insurmountable as these stairs! (These are the steep stairs to get to the very top of Diamond Head! ) It’s really easy to see big sin and feel overwhelmed and like it is impossible to have victory over it. And I have grasped onto a few truths when I come across this in my life:

1. Christ has already won!! His blood on the cross bought complete victory over any sin – past, present or future. HE is working in you – his Holy Spirit is killing sin, sanctifying you. You feel like you can’t do it on your own – you’re right! Jesus is working in you.

2. When we feel like all we’re doing is fighting sin – – that’s good! We are called to FIGHT. When we give up and indulge in our sinful ways without a second thought, that’s where destruction happens.

3. Just like these steps – you have to take one day at a time. When you look at everything you have in front of you, it is easy to be overwhelmed. But look at Today. Right now. This situation. I can kill sin here. I don’t have to think about all the drastic ways I have to change in the next year – if I do, it leads to despair and I give up! But right now. NOW I can fight.

I encourage you to fight! Take one step at a time. Trust Jesus and know that HE is working in you!

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Jesus, Sanctification. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Killing Sin

  1. jenrmott says:

    This is encouraging Jackie- You should read The Enemy Within. So good and its about killing indwelling sin.

Add to the conversation...

