Tasty Tuesday – Classic French Toast

Confession: I often need to look up “classic” recipes…. mashed potatoes, guacamole, french toast, etc. Here is a good, basic french toast recipe. It’s perfect for a Lazy Saturday morning…. due to carbs wrecking havoc on me, I rarely make a nice big breakfast, with the key players being (YUM) pancakes, french toast or waffles. But every once in a while it’s makes a wonderful morning event. And my husband loves french toast, so that makes it even better:) I put my changes in parentheses. Note – I prefer MUCH more cinnamon and sugar – – but you probably should to:)

Classic French Toast

Slightly Adapted From Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook

  • 4 beaten eggs (you could do part egg white too)
  • 1 c. milk (or half fat free half and half for a creamier texture)
  • 2-3 T. Sugar
  • 1 T. vanilla
  • 2 t. ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 t. ground nutmeg (you could also add pumpkin pie spice or other yumminess – although I have a delicious pumpkin pancake recipe I’ll make in the fall!)
  • 6-8 slices challah bread or day old homemade bread machine bread:)
  • 2 T. butter

  1. Beat together mixture in a shallow bowl or pie pan.
  2. Dip bread slices in, coating both sides and letting egg mixture soak about 10 seconds each side if the bread is thick.
  3. Melt 1 T butter over medium heat, cook bread slices 2-3 minutes on each side or until the bread is done and golden brown. Repeat. Serve warm with syrup.
About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Baking, Tasty Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tasty Tuesday – Classic French Toast

  1. I had actually been thinking about making french toast and then your post came into my email so I was sold! I made this yesterday morning and saved the leftovers for today. I just put the slices in the toaster to reheat and they were delish :) Thanks for a yummy breakfast treat!

Add to the conversation...

