Adventures in Homemade Cleaners

So a while ago I thought about doing homemade cleaner. My main reason was the price, but I was also feeling good about having less chemicals in my home. It’s definitely a bigger deal if there are little ones in the house, but I figured I might as well try it out now… and if I can save some money – even better!! I have a few friends that rock them and I’ve always been impressed. I had been thinking about it for a while and my cleaners were quickly running out. It was game time- was I going to go for it and try it out or keep procrastinating?

Well… I decided to go for it. I got some supplies – a couple spray bottles, a giant bottle of vinegar and a big box of baking soda.

I saw a recipe with some vinegar and baking soda and water as well as some microfiber cloths. I decided when I wiped off my kitchen counters (usually at least a couple times per day) I should start using cloths and washing them instead of paper towels. (Sorry for using them for so long Greenzos!)

So…. I tried it! It was okay, but after it dried, I realized there was a weird film left on the counter. It was weird feeling and not as smooth and clean as I want. SO I realized it was probably the baking soda and with the help of some folks, decided straight vinegar and water was the way to go. So I tweaked that guy and did about 1/4 of the bottle of vinegar and the rest water. This is my “general” cleaning (made it purple!). But then I wanted a more intense one so I did about 1/3- 1/2 of the bottle of vinegar for the heavy clean (green!).

Tried it out…. took a while to see what I thought…. SUCCESS!! I even cleaned out the inside of my microwave and it was GREAT!

Only problem is the smell of vinegar. It’s fine once it’s dry, but pretty powerful when its being sprayed. I don’t mind it but hubby HATES it! Yuck! I’ve had a plan to get some essential oils from Curry, but keep forgetting:) Oh well!

I’m totally sold on this for my kitchen counter and appliances and have been using it for my downstairs bathroom as well. I’m still using traditional store bought cleaners in the upstairs bathroom since it is so much more used than downstairs. I am almost done with my green cleaner and am excited to make another one! It shall officially be a staple!

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Cleaning, Domesticity. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Adventures in Homemade Cleaners

  1. Kristin Lewis says:

    I make some of my own cleaners! Zach’s dad’s wife had a lot of recipes, if you will, and gave me a copy of some easy ones and the uses for them! I only use a few but I really dig the idea of using less strange chemicals in my home and pleasing my tree hugger, science loving, self. I agree with the bathroom thing though, hard to put away those store bought/heavy chemical cleaners. It’s just so dirty. haha. love this post and you!

  2. Michelle says:

    i was excited to read your post! I started using vinegar to clean lately and I love it. I even found that it cleaned my shower better than any cleaner I’ve ever used before. And it’s antibacterial (probably less so the more water you add to dilute it with. You can use straight vinegar too, just not on tile grout). Give your upstairs bathroom a try!

  3. jamisonmama says:

    I’ve been researching this too! (Check out my blog for the different recipes I’m finding!) One way that I use my microfiber cloths is instead of buying the Swiffer dry mop cloths. I can usually use both sides and I can wash them. PLUS (shameless plug?) our Pampered Chef microfiber cloths can absorb TWO CUPS of liquid! What?! Great for cleaning up spills, using for wet cleaning in the bathroom, kitchen, wherever! I’m also in the process of posting my current findings on homemade laundry detergent, fabric softeners, and dishwasher detergent! Would love to share this experience with you!!!

Add to the conversation...

