Baking with Pumpkin! – THE BEST PUMPKIN BREAD EVER!!!!

So here’s the thing. After years and years of cooking and baking I have FINALLY found a few classic “go to” FANTASTIC recipes! I get excited when I find recipes that I make and they are DELICIOUS!!!

One of my absolute favorite things I’ve ever made is pumpkin bread. It’s one of allrecipes.com top recipes and there are like 3,700 ratings on it… so it comes highly recommended. I made this a couple of autumns ago and was WOWED! I make it constantly during the autumn and winter and it seems we never tire of it!! So, at the risk of sharing my best recipe – here it is:)

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

From All Recipes

  • 1 15 ounce can pumpkin
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 c. vegetable oil
  • 2/3 c. water
  • 3 c. white sugar
  • splash vanilla
  • 3 1/2 c. all-purpose flour
  • 2 t. baking soda
  • 1 1/2 t. salt
  • 1 t. ground cinnamon
  • 1 t. ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 t. ground cloves
  • 1/4 t. ground ginger
  • 1/4 t. pumpkin pie spice

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and sprinkle cinnamon/ sugar on the bottom and sides of your pan. You can do three 7×3 loaf pans, a bundt pan, muffins, or a combo of 2 bread loaves and muffins. I prefer not to do a bundt pan only because you can’t do the awesome sugar/ cinnamon topping as easily.

2. In a large bowl, mix together pumpkin puree, eggs, oil, water, sugar and vanilla until well blended. In a separate bowl, whisk (or sift) together the flour, baking soda, salt, and spices (feel free to add more spices if you want!!) Stir the dry ingredients into the pumpkin mixture until just blended. Pour into the prepared pans.
3. Now comes the good part – GENEROUSLY sprinkle cinnamon and raw/ demura sugar (big chunks!) on top. This makes the top of the bread/ muffins be like the yummy bakery ones:) Bake in preheated oven – about 50 minutes for loaves, about 20 minutes for muffins and about 70 minutes for a bundt pan. They are done when a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

So much delicious pumpkin goodness

This recipe is HUGE so I encourage you to make a bunch and give some away. A loaf of this delicious bread says a thousand things…

YUM being one of the first:)

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Baking with Pumpkin! – THE BEST PUMPKIN BREAD EVER!!!!

  1. Emmy says:

    So…I made this bread last night and I have eaten 2/3 of it already. BY MYSELF. I justified it by saying I would eat the bread instead of an actual meal. So for dinner last night, I had pumpkin bread. For breakfast this morning, I had pumpkin bread. For an afternoon snack, I had pumpkin bread. Yum!!! :)Thank you, Jackie!

  2. Michelle says:

    Here’s a question from a novice pumpkin baker. Could you use pumpkin pie mix in this recipe instead of straight pumpkin? I’m assuming the difference between the two is that one has some spices mixed in. Just wondering because I have the pumpkin pie mix in my cupboard right now. Thanks, Jackie!

    • jackielopina says:

      Hey Michelle! I’m thinking you probably couldn’t use pumpkin pie mix with the same result…. my thought is this. Canned pumpkin + evaporated milk (or some other kind of addition) + spices = pumpkin pie. So I’m assuming there’s something extra in there. To be honest… it might still be fabulous! Who knows?!/ Let me know if you brave it!

  3. Pingback: Re-Living Vacation: Saturday « Reflecting on what God has done

  4. Pingback: Top posts of 2010 « Reflecting on what God has done

Add to the conversation...

