Baking with Pumpkin! – Pumpkin Bars with Cream Cheese Frosting

The more I cook and bake, the stronger my preferences become – for better and for worse:) I am making new recipes often, but sometimes run back to my classic preferences:

1 – Chocolate is almost always better than non chocolate.

2 – Bar cookies take less time and are thicker (which often means softer and yummier) than traditional cookies

3 – I like my pumpkin with lots of cinnamon, cloves, and spice OR with chocolate chips

So my husband mentioned he enjoyed some pumpkin bars with cream cheese frosting recently. When he requested a batch from me, I was a little hesitant. I KNOW this is a crowd pleaser but I’m not a huge cream cheese fan…. However I really love the cakey texture of these bars and since I LOVE LOVE baking with pumpkin I figured what the hey?!?

Got this recipe from Tasty Kitchen which is the pioneer woman’s food website she launched. It’s kind of a big deal. I have just started searching for recipes there.

Frosted Pumpkin Bars

from tastykitchen.com

FOR THE CAKE:

  • 3 whole Eggs
  • ¾ cups Canola Oil
  • 1-⅔ cup Sugar
  • 29 ounces, weight Canned Pumpkin
  • 2 cups Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 2 teaspoons Baking Powder
  • 1 teaspoon Kosher Salt
  • 2 teaspoons Ground Cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon Ground Nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon Ground Ginger

FOR THE FROSTING: (Next time I would probably double the frosting recipe or at least 1 1/2 times. I had to spread a very thin layer on my 11×15 jelly roll pan)

  • 2 cups Sifted Powdered Sugar
  • 8 ounces, weight Cream Cheese, softened
  • ½ cups Unsalted Butter, Softened
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

2. In a large mixing bowl combine the eggs, canola oil, sugar and pumpkin and mix until light and fluffy.

3. In a separate large mixing bowl, sift the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg.
Slowly pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and fold them together until completely combined.

4. Pour the pumpkin mixture into an ungreased 15 by 10 jelly roll pan and bake for 25 minutes.

5. Allow the pumpkin bars to cool completely before frosting.

To make the frosting:

1. Set aside 2 cups of sifted powdered sugar.

2. Combine the softened cream cheese and unsalted butter in a large mixing bowl using a paddle attachment or you can use a hand-held mixer. You want to combine the two ingredients but not over mix. Then add in the 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract.

3. Slowly add in the powdered sugar on low speed. Once it starts to combine, increase the speed. Use your spatula to scrape down the sides to make sure that all the ingredients are mixed well together.

Note: The cream cheese frosting may have somewhat of a thin consistency. If that’s the case, put in the refrigerator to firm it up a bit. When you take the frosting out to put on the pumpkin bars, if it’s still too thin, mix in some more powdered sugar until you have the consistency and taste you want. Make sure you refrigerate the cream cheese frosting!

Spread over the cooled pumpkin bars, cut into squares and enjoy! Store pumpkin squares in the refrigerator.



About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Baking with Pumpkin! – Pumpkin Bars with Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. em says:

    i am such a fan of the tasty kitchen. and pumpkin. these look delicious!

  2. Kate Titus says:

    I think I love you. But I don’t have a 15×10 pan. This will be remedied immediately. Or the next time I go shopping. :)

    • jackielopina says:

      haha YES! Do you have any jelly roll pan? A jelly roll pan is basically a cookie sheet with sides. My mom used them as cookie sheets growing up and I didn’t know the difference until recently! To be honest with you, I bet you could just use a 9×13 pan. They would just be a lot thicker. Good luck!!

Add to the conversation...

