Pies, Pies Pies!!! ….TT’s Apple Pear Cranberry Pie!

In the same BHG magazine they had a Pear-Plum pie and a Apple-Cranberry pie. I was deciding which to make and my nearest grocery store was out of plums BUT I really wanted to make a pie with pears so I decided – what the hey – to make one pie with pears, apples and cranberries! The two recipes were fairy similar so I just put them together for this pie and…. DELICIOUS! I made it for our community group and was very happy with it. However, there were a few things I would do differently next time and I’ll put that in parentheses

Apple Pear Cranberry Pie

Based on Alan’s pie from Better Homes and Gardens

2 portions pie crust – this one or pre-made refrigerated dough

1 1/4 c. sugar (I think I’d do 1 1/2 c. next time)

1/4 c. cornstarch

1 t. shredded lemon peel

1 1/2 t. cinnamon

1/4 t. allspice

1/8 t. salt

6 cups apples and pears

(I used 3 different apples – golden deilcious, granny smith and a red apple, a yellow pear and a green pear)

3/4 c. cranberries

2 T. lemon juice (too much – I would do 1 T. lemon juice)

1/2 t. vanilla

1 egg, beaten

1 T. whipping cream

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Butter pie plate. Roll out pastry on a very floured work surface to a circle about 12 inches in diameter. Make sure to flour the work surface, your rolling pin and your hands.

Transfer to a 9 inch pie plate without stretching. Trim pastry about an inch or so over the rim of the pie plate. Let your sweet sous chef model your crust.

Grab your fruit

Cut your apples and pears into equal sized pieces. Peel your apples if desired.

In a small bowl combine sugar, cornstarch, lemon peel, spices and salt. In a large bowl combine fruit.

Add lemon juice and vanilla. Add sugar mixture and toss to coat. Feel free to add more fruit, spices or sugar if you think it needs it!

Pour it in pie plate.

Very nice.

Roll remaining pastry portion to a 12 inch circle.

Get all nice and floury… it’s a good time:)

Lots of flour. You don’t want it sticking!

Pick it up

Drape it over the fruit.

Mold the dough, making “hills and valleys” and various shapes over the mound of fruit.

I love this picture!!! Thanks Caroline!!

Trim to 1/2 inch beyond the edge of the pie tin. Fold top pastry under bottom pastry. Crimp edges as desired or use a fork on the edges. Cut 4 slits in top crust to allow steam to escape.

Combine beaten egg and cream; brush on pastry. Place pie on foil lined baking sheet.

Sprinkle over some raw sugar if you want!

Bake 1 hour 20 minutes total. I cooked for 40 minutes on the 2nd to top rack. Then I cooked for the remaining 35 minutes on the 3rd rack and with foil over the edges to keep from over browning.

Check out this beautiful pie!

Such a BEAUTIFUL caramel color!

Wow, oh wow

Getting the first slice for my helper, Carol:)

It tastes DELICIOUS! The crust is PHENOMENAL and the filling’s not bad either:)

Feel free to try this amazing pie!

A special Thanksgiving gift from me to you:)

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Baking, Holidays, Tasty Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pies, Pies Pies!!! ….TT’s Apple Pear Cranberry Pie!

  1. andrea says:

    oh my…that looks so delicious:) I might have some pie-making in the near future!

  2. Thanks for the recipe Jackie. I can’t wait to try it with my gluten free pie crust.

Add to the conversation...

