Pies, Pies, Pie!!!… Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

So confession – I did NOT make this pie yet this year. My sweet Grandma made this all the time when I was growing up and it is one of those pies that reminds me of my childhood. It is a little bit of a different pie, but it was an absolute STAPLE for Thanksgiving all my life. I love it!!

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

1 1/2 c. sugar

3 T. quick cooking tapioca

1/4 t. salt

1/4 t. ground nutmeg

1 lb (3 cups) rhubarb, cut in 1/2 inch pieces (frozen is fine)

1 c. sliced strawberries (fresh or frozen)

1. Combine sugar, tapioca, salt and nutmeg in medium bowl. Combine fruit in larger bowl and pour dry ingredients on fruit to coat it. Let stand for 20 minutes

2. Prepare pastry for 9 inch bottom and lattice top (if you’re feeling fancy!). Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

3. Butter bottom of pie plate and put crust in bottom. (It doesn’t overflow so you don’t need a deep dish pie plate). Fill with fruit mixture.

4. Dot with 1 T. butter and adjust lattice top. Seal edges.

5. Bake in 400 degree oven for 35-40 minutes.

A shot of me baking Thanksgiving pies in 2009! I feel like I look totally different now?!?


Pie making makes me happy:)

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Baking, Holidays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pies, Pies, Pie!!!… Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

  1. em says:

    i think it’s a very sweet coincidence that PW’s post for today is called “pies pies pies!”

    but now i feel overwhelmed by pies… so many delicious choices!! we’ll figure this out tomorrow :)

    • jackielopina says:

      she’s such a copycat!! hahaha… maybe this means I could be a famous blogger with lots of money and a sweet house that cooks and bakes all day?!? Think about it:)

  2. Jacquelyn says:

    Hi Jackie :)
    I debated about commenting since I’m such a lurker (I like your blog!) but here I am… I know I like to know who is reading my blog so consider this a formal “hello” :)

    Okay, I bake pies all the time- and I use homemade crust for many other things (pot pies, quiche, etc) and the tips I’ve read are different than the ones you’ve read… So I thought I could share mine so you can try it out while you’re on your pie baking kick! I noticed that you had a disaster with your pretty crimped edges on your derby pie…. I hope these work for you, so here goes.

    I never mush my butter to clay-like consistency. It needs to be cold, cold, cold, cold! Mushing it will warm it a bit. Mine is never frozen, but always fresh out of the fridge. I cut it into tablespoons-ish, and then cut in with pastry blender. Everything- the water, acid (I only use apple cider vinegar, no sour cream), butter- it all needs to stay super cold. What this does is keeps the butter from incorporating with the flour- if it is cold, it stays in those nice little balls. What THAT does when it bakes is creates that flakiness that you want in a pie crust. It it warms at all and the ingredients start to incorporate- think batter- it creates more like a biscuit dough instead of flakey layers.

    Secondly, your edges were beautiful but your dough looks too wet. I don’t know what your recipe tells you to do, but mine says to add water a TBS at a time until the dough JUST comes together in a shaggy ball. It should still be floury and messy, not a cohesive tacky ball. We’re talking it just BARELY comes together into a ball… if it is too sticky, well, the sides fall in the oven. My dough is still crumbly after adding the water/vinegar, but I test it to see if it will come together, if it does, great. If there is a bit of rogue flour, I wet my hands just a bit to get it to come together. It should be dry and a bit floury to the touch.

    Also, be sure to chill it for an hour before rolling it out. Gotta keep the butter cold! :) And roll quickly, especially if in a warm environment. If you aren’t going to fill/bake immediately, put it back in the fridge :)

    My recipe is from bon appetit magazine. If you are interested in trying it out, let me know and I can send it to you!

    I hope that helps? From one pie baker to another-
    Jacquelyn

    • jackielopina says:

      Hey Jacquelyn!! Thanks for saying hi! Glad you like my blog:) GREAT tips! It’s so funny because I was was reading over them, I remembered the pie crust I was making last Thanksgiving had the same “keep everything ice cold thing” – – I think I even put my bowl, measuring cup and pastry blender in the freezer for a few minutes! The more I baked this crust, I’m realizing I LOVED it with a double fruit pie thing but I would probably do last year’s crust that stayed a little more cohesive with pies that just use a bottom crust. I’d love to try your recipe though! I ALWAYS love trying and comparing:) Wouldn’t it be fab to have a different pie crust recipe with different pies?!?

      Good to hear from you! Hope you have a happy Thanksgiving full of cooking and baking!!

  3. Jacquelyn says:

    :) The thing I love about this pie crust is that you can switch the Apple cider vinegar to white vinegar when using it for savory recipes. I do that often for my pot pies.

    Here it is:
    3 cups AP flour
    2 TBS sugar
    1 3/4 tsp salt
    1 cup + 2 TBS unsalted butter
    8 TBS (or more, if needed) ice water
    1 1/2 tsp apple cider vinegar (or white vinegar)
    (notes: I have successfully cut this recipe in half, right down the middle, many times. I also usually sub in 1/2 whole wheat flour with great results.)

    I think you know the drill- mix the dry ingreds, add butter until coarse meal forms, add vinegar and water- one TBS at a time- until dough just comes together. It never looks like it will, but I give it a try after 8 TBS just to see :) It usually does and sometimes i need to sprinkle just a bit more water to get the rogue bits to come together. :) The instructions say to divide dough into two balls, flatten into disks, wrap in plastic wrap and chill for one hour.

    That sour cream dough sounds delish for all sorts of different recipes, too! It would be great to change it up for different pies. Yay for experimenting :)

    Have a great holiday week-
    Jacquelyn

Add to the conversation...

