Over. Whelmed.

This morning I came downstairs and saw this

It’s an advent basket!!!

25 gifts.

One for each day until Christmas.

When I saw this, I was shocked, surprised, SO excited and just OVERWHELMED by the love of my friends. 

(and SO excited, I was doing crazy jazz hands and smiling like a big goofball!)

Bryan came downstairs to open the first one with me and I just started crying… just overcome by the love and graciousness (and planning and secrecy!) and thoughtfulness of others. Tears are still streaming down my face as I write this. I just feel so, so, so loved. SO joyful and excited!

It has been a hard year. Full of disappointment and grief and sorrow and hopelessness… but the love and generous outpouring of grace of my friends remind me that God really is good. He really is kind. He really does want to lavish good things on me.

Amen and amen.

Oh dear, sweet friends…  I don’t have the words to say how thankful I am. I love you so much. Thank you for your overwhelming love and intense generosity. You are SO SO sweet! After a hard year it’s easy for me to wish good riddance to 2010, but oh, you’re making the advent season so sweet and such a huge reminder that suffering is not for naught, God is doing huge things and He loves me deeply. You’re reminding me of the BEST gift God gave when He gave up His Son Jesus on the cross. I was fighting some discontentment about Christmas this year – but now I am SO excited to open my little gifts and it makes me more excited about everything else Christmas brings too! Thank you a million times. Thank you. LOVE YOU!!!!!

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Friends, Holidays, Outpouring of Grace. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Over. Whelmed.

  1. love you so much. and I’m thankful that you included the amazing imagery of you doing jazz hands. perfect :)

  2. andrea says:

    oh my, oh my…Jackie I received one last night too…what a blessing to our hearts:)

    • jackielopina says:

      are you serious?!? I LOVE that and I am so happy for you!!!! I will be praying for you especially over the next month and that these little gifts can give you joy:) What great friends God has given us!!

  3. em says:

    you are SO loved – by so many people but infinitely by your Father! and i agree with steph… it’s good to have a friend who regularly uses jazz hands to show excitement :)

  4. kelly says:

    How fun! This is too sweet:)

  5. Lauren says:

    LOVE YOU SO MUCH my friend!! I am so excited for your excitement and joy : ) and jazz hands!! annnnnd I cried a little just reading your post ; )
    God IS so good. i pray you continue to experience His deep love for you this season! WE LOVE YOOOOOOOOOU!!!!!

  6. Pingback: Advent Basket Recap Days 1-11 « Reflecting on what God has done

  7. Pingback: Entering Year 3 « Reflecting on what God has done

  8. Pingback: Top posts of 2010 « Reflecting on what God has done

Add to the conversation...

