I’m out of my league… Tasty Tuesday style

My husband got me THE BEST CHRISTMAS PRESENT EVER!!! I had asked my family for this, but knew it is SO insanely expensive and kind of ridiculous and wasn’t necessarily expecting to get one. But then… I opened the box when Bryan and I were opening presents and

BOOM!!!

Um… are you serious?!?!

Oh my, my, my….

6.75 quart Caribbean Le Creuset dutch oven. Please commence freaking out.

I was SO excited!!! The color is insanely beautiful and it is HUGE!!! I know it can be  expensive but he got a RIDICULOUS deal on it! I was super proud of him for that. And he spent some money that people gave to him on this present – so sweet:)

But man, a Le Creuset dutch oven ain’t no joke. This isn’t like saying ‘here’s a bigger skillet or a different kind of spatula.” No, this is a totally different way of cooking!

I started reading up on it and realized “YIKES. I am out of my league.”

A few nights ago I spent about 5 hours reading about up on dutch oven cooking. I read through the cookbook Bryan gave me, the instructions on the website, different recipes, what people said online, the instructional manual and the guidelines and more recipes. And more recipes. And a few more.

And so, with some new knowledge I took the plunge! I planned to make PW’s pot roast for New Year’s Eve. I was SO nervous I was going to use the pan wrong or cook it on too high of heat and then it would be burned and brown and not as pretty, but I just went with it. I tried to be cautious but figured I’ve got to start somewhere. Here’s the recipe.

Pioneer Woman’s Perfect Pot Roast

from The Pioneer Woman

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole (4 To 5 Pounds) Chuck Roast
  • 2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 2 whole Onions
  • 6 whole Carrots (Up To 8 Carrots)
  • Salt To Taste
  • Pepper To Taste
  • 1 cup Red Wine (optional, You Can Use Beef Broth Instead)
  • 2 cups To 3 Cups Beef Stock
  • 3 sprigs Fresh Thyme, or more to taste
  • 3 sprigs Fresh Rosemary, or more to taste

Preparation Instructions:

Your perfect pot roast begins in the store. Choose a piece of meat that has fat marbled throughout. Generously sprinkle salt and pepper your chuck roast. (Check out this GIANT piece of beef!)

Heat a large pot or Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Then add 2 to 3 tablespoons of olive oil (or you can do a butter/olive oil split). (Alright… getting my dutch oven ready for it’s first spin!!)

Cut two onions in half and cut 6 to 8 carrots into 2-inch slices (you can peel them, but you don’t have to). Baby carrots work just fine. When the oil in the pot is very hot (but not smoking), add in the halved onions. (Here’s the first thing I’ve ever put in my Le Creuset!)

You want to caramelize your onions now. Here’s the trick – DO NOT STIR! Once you put the onions in the pot, let them sit and cook for a few minutes. Stir once then let the onions sit and cook again. Do this until they are nice and dark. They should smell amazing!! Remove the onions to a plate. Throw the carrots into the same very hot pan and toss them around a bit until slightly browned, about a minute or so.

If needed, add a bit more olive oil to the very hot pan. Place the meat in the pan and sear it for about a minute on all sides until it is nice and brown all over. Remove the roast to a plate.

With the burner still on high, pour in 1 cup of red wine (or beef broth if you must!) It will begin bubbling immediately. Use a whisk to scrap the delicious brown bits from the bottom of the pan.

When the bottom of the pan is sufficiently deglazed, place the roast back into the pan and add enough beef stock to cover the meat halfway (about 2 to 3 cups). Add in the onion and the carrots, as well as 3 or 4 sprigs of fresh rosemary and about 3 sprigs of fresh thyme. If you don’t have fresh, just sprinkle dried herbs over top.

Put the lid on, then roast in a 275F oven for 3 hours (for a 3-pound roast). For a 4 to 5-pound roast, plan on 4 hours. (I did mine at 300 degrees for a little over 3 hours… here’s where the magic happens people)

And the moment of truth…

BOOM!!!

Beautiful. Just beautiful.

Let me tell you, it tasted fantastic.

Completely delicious.

And I thought I had messed up the inside and it would be impossible to clean but swiped a sponge over it and voila!! Clean! I was STOKED. This good experience made me love it even more! I cannot wait to cook more with my new toy! To be honest, Le Creuset cooking is all I want to do in 2011. Done and done.

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Domesticity, Tasty Tuesday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m out of my league… Tasty Tuesday style

  1. andrea says:

    Yea! You will use this all the time:) I inherited my mom’s vintage le creuset circa 1970 and I use it almost every day for almost everything. The best part is what you noted toward the end, the cleaning process:) It’s so easy!

    I have also collected a bunch of their stoneware like these: http://www.amazon.com/Creuset-Stoneware-4-Quart-Rectangular-16-Ounce/dp/B00092ZWWU/ref=sr_1_3?s=kitchen&ie=UTF8&qid=1294154483&sr=1-3

    They are super inexpensive at places like Homegoods and TJ Maxx and are my favorite again for the clean up:)

Add to the conversation...

