Wonderful Wintery Wreaths!

I recently decided I wanted to expand my crafting. There is so much homemade beauty on the web! Also I love decorating my home (especially with the seasons) and that can get expensive!! So I was hoping  by making my own I could have some fun, make some mistakes and hopefully end with a good result or two.

I found a link to this amazing, poufy, whimsical, fun coffee filter wreath on Andrea’s blog.

photo courtesy of The NESTER

I spent lots of time wandering around this blog and all the decorating ones that I found from it. I am amazed at the beauty people create! I had been planning on making this for weeks. And then I saw THIS.

photo

SWOON!!!!! And a half. I absolutely loved this. This (and many other yarn ball wreaths) are Christmas decorations. I loved how the ornament balls looked in it, but didn’t think they would work for a winter wreath.

I got the supplies for both wreaths and began the yarn ball one first.

Based on my winter whimsical decorations that I started, I began a color scheme for my yarn ball wreath. Cream and tan, definitely. Light blue? Sure? Pink? YES! Maybe a little darker brown? The color scheme kind of happened organically. As per the decorations online I got different sizes of foam balls and a wire wreath all from a craft store. (The foam balls were a little pricy but the wire wreath was only a few dollars!!! I later saw a tip of someone who just made foil balls – that would be SO cheap!) I used craft glue to secure the beginning of the yarn to the ball. I’m not sure this step is needed. Then I wrapped the yarn all around. The thicker yarns were MUCH quicker and covered better, but I was just using what I had and the colors I wanted were thin. (But if you’re going to do one of these, I suggest thicker yarn.)

This took a long time. A LONG time. However, I just snuggled up with season 2 of my newest TV fave (Burn Notice – it’s the weird spy thing I have) and wrapped up dozens of yarn balls. I was prepared this was the longest part so I wasn’t shocked. And we’ve had a lot of snow recently that made it easier to stay inside with yarn and a comfy blanket. Hot chocolate doesn’t hurt either.

After I wrapped what I thought would be enough balls, I began the placing and gluing process. This was a little anxiety producing. I LOVE non-identical symmetry so I was trying to make it look like a round wreath without just using the same size all around. (Although I saw one like this that looked great! It just wasn’t the look I was going for.)

I found a tip to do one section at a time… but I think in the future I would place the larger yarn balls for the whole wreath and then plug in the smaller ones. Anyways, I used a hot glue gun and a boatful of hot glue to attach the balls to the wire and to each other.  I glued it on the front and then turned it over and glued on the back for good coverage. Some of those yarn balls are heavy! The result?

Yay! I loved it!!!

Next, I started the coffee filter wreath. I figured this one would take forever too but was SHOCKED when I felt like it was done in less than an hour!!! All I did was fold regular coffee filters in half and use craft glue to glue them on to a styrofoam wreath form.

I just did the top (left the sides and middle bare) but it was PERFECT for the winter whimsy I wanted on my front door. What do you think?

And are you tired of me talking about whimsy yet?

Two homemade, wintery wreaths! I was THRILLED with their success and it gave me some confidence to try my hand at some more decorations!

What are your next crafting projects?

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Decorating, Domesticity, Hobbies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wonderful Wintery Wreaths!

  1. Curry Winters says:

    great job and i love the whimsy…perhaps wednesday whimsy could be regular posting!!!!!

  2. Pingback: Random Thoughts on a Saturday « Hoping in God

Add to the conversation...

