Reverse Engineering My Life

In my 26 goals I mentioned I want to “reverse engineer my life”. Bryan and I listened to a Mark Driscoll talk with this title a month ago. It is a VERY practical talk about how to honor God with every part of our life. He talks about creating God honoring priorities and how to focus our time on what God has called us to.

We listened to this at a time where I was CRAVING focus. I was spending too much time on less important things and not enough time on the important. I was pulled in 20 directions and felt I was doing nothing well. This was also during the month I worked like a madwoman- going in early, staying late and doing work at home. Work was ruling my life and although work is important, I felt like it was consuming the very important things, causing them to be postponed or ignored.

So, after I listened to this, I went to work ON my life. One of his biggest assumptions is that “we spend more time working IN our lives than we do working ON our lives.” That is dead on for me.

So I decided I need to focus – get my priorities in order and ONLY do what meets those, cutting out what doesn’t. So often our time gets wasted by the urgent/ non important things. When this happens the non-urgent/ important aspects get lost. These are things like studying your bible, working out, spending quality time with friends and your spouse. All VERY important but often in the bustle of day-to-day life we waste that time on other things. We spend a lot (time, energy, stress) finishing up work, running errands and replying to the seemingly constant stream of emails, texts and phone calls.

My days can get so muddled when I feel like my life is running me. So I took the plunge – prioritized and planned my days to match my priorities. Bryan and I talked through these. We talked about what my life should look like in a year-  things to learn, things to change, how to know Jesus better. I looked at my calendar and the activities that take up my time and plotted how to plan so my heart and life match my priorities.

And for the past month, I am using my time well! The Holy Spirit has done a mighty work in me and is allowing me to find my identity ultimately in Jesus. This overflows in spending my time in ways that honor Him. Yes, it’s a struggle. No, I don’t always get it right. But then I can repent and run to Jesus, asking Him to change me and draw me to worship only Him.

In the next few weeks, I’ll share my 6 priorities. If this seems interesting to you too, I recommend that you listen to the talk or read the handout below!

Please note this is a talk he gave to pastors. He doesn’t talk a lot about gospel motivation. This is assumed and is the basis on which the practical aspects come from.

Know that DOING, prioritizing or managing our time well does not make Jesus love us any more. There is nothing we can DO to make Jesus love us. There is nothing we can DO to get eternal life. Jesus has already done everything we need!!

Praise Jesus that on the cross he died for our sin- sin of ignoring God our Father, wasting our life running to idols, and worshipping everything but Him. So often we feel like life is running us because we put ALL our value and worth and identity in things like work, success, family, being liked. It doesn’t fill us up because we’re running in vain! Jesus took that punishment our sin deserved – he died a brutal, bloody death on the cross. Through this, he brought us to God!

For Christ also suffered once for sins, the righteous for the unrighteous, that he might bring us to God, being put to death in the flesh but made alive in the spirit. 1 Peter 3:18

Amen! So with that gospel motivation, here is the talk to listen to and a wonderful (lengthy!) handout with applicable questions and things to think about. Be assured – God can redeem this part of your life to bring glory to His name and bring you joy.  I urge you to spend time getting to know Jesus. He is worthy of your time, your energy, your body, your love! Worship Him!

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Biblical Womanhood, Jesus, Sanctification and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reverse Engineering My Life

  1. Pingback: My 6 Priorities – #1 « Hoping in God

Add to the conversation...

