Two Things I Hate About Baking

Yes, you read that right. There are things I HATE about baking. What are these things, you may ask?

1. Dishes
I would bake SO much more if I didn’t have to do dishes! (I know that’s a crazy thing to say.) This is one of my biggest beefs with cupcake baking- I currently only have 1 mixer bowl and paddle so I have to rewash those in order to make the frosting.

So I realize that’s a really high maintenance complaint and for that I apologize. But I’m serious about the next one.

2. Everything tastes better in dough form.
SERIOUSLY!! I just made some coffee cupcakes and I tasted the batter and – WOW! It was delicious! I baked them and ate a cupcake…. It was so-so. Where did all this flavor go that I had 30 minutes ago?

And don’t even get me started on cookies. Cookie dough is one of the great things a person could ever eat. Seriously. You can’t get much better. Even a phenomenal cookie still tastes better in dough form. Which is actually fairly disappointing when that is only the middle of the process and not the end result.

And so…. Without further ado, I introduce to you:

Joy the Baker’s Cookie Dough For freezing and eating– NOT baking

Now before you go all home ec teacher on me (cough, Mom!)…. don’t worry. There are NO raw eggs in this recipe. You can either use Greek yogurt, applesauce or peanut butter. I’ve made it with both applesauce and Greek yogurt and I think the yogurt is exponentially better! The applesauce gave it a little bit of an “off” taste. The yogurt provides creaminess and when you freeze it, it becomes PERFECT- not too cold and frozen like the applesauce ones can. Greek yogurt is actually my new favorite baking ingredient:)

As if raw cookie dough isn’t enough, Joy actually dunks her in melted chocolate after it’s made. WOW. I did that the first time and it was a-a-a mazing. But hey – I’m trying to not over do it around here. Eating cookie dough balls fits in with my health regiment but dough balls dipped in melted chocolate might just be a little much – HAH! Yes, I realize I’m being ridiculous.

Also, I’ve made about 5 batches of these in the past 6 weeks. And I didn’t inform my husband they existed until batch 3. Just being real.

  • 2 sticks (1 cup or 8 ounces) unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 2 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda (for flavor)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup Greek yogurt or applesauce or peanut butter
  • 2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts (optional)
  • 3 cups semi sweet chocolate chips, melted for dipping (optional)

Put butter and sugars in a large bowl and cream together with a mixer. You want this to get light and fluffy – it should take about 2-4 minutes. Beat in Greek yogurt (or applesauce or peanut butter. Stir in vanilla.

Whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt.  Add to the butter and sugar mixture and stir with a wooden spoon until fully mixed.  Fold in chocolate chips and nuts, if using.

Scoop large spoonfuls or ice cream scoops onto a waxed paper lined cookie sheet.

I freeze for about 30 minutes and then throw the dough balls into a large ziploc bag. And then eat them:)

But if you’re dipping them….

Spear each dough ball with a popsicle stick or lollipop stick if melting.  Place in the freezer overnight or until frozen, at least three hours. When ready to dip the balls, melt chocolate chips in a small saucepan over low heat or in the microwave (heat for 30 seconds at a time and stir until completely melted. Don’t over cook!)  Remove balls from the freezer and dip into warm chocolate.  Return to the lined cookie sheet and return to the freezer to harden.  Serve cold from the freezer.

Do jazz hands because now that you’re finally an adult, you can eat balls of raw cookie dough without getting yelled at:)

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Two Things I Hate About Baking

  1. Pat says:

    THESE ARE GENIOUS! :)

    -Kimbo

  2. Kate Titus says:

    These look kind of amazing. A friend from college just posted on facebook that she made chai spice cake truffle balls. I’m going to tweak the recipe and probably try it soon. Have you ever done anything like that? I’m a slight chai addict; I started drooling as soon as she posted it. ;)

  3. Pingback: THE BEST COOKIES I’VE EVER MADE! « Hoping in God

Add to the conversation...

