Tasty Tuesday – Waikiki Chicken

So in light of all the glorious Hawaiian talk going on the past couple days, I decided it was the PERFECT time to post this dish!! A couple of things about this meal:

1-I had this WAY before I went to Hawaii

2-It was a meal my mom made growing up

3-And was my FAVORITE as a child

4-My parents gave me some of their recipes  and this was one of them

(My dad actually hand drew the Hawaiian islands next to the printed recipe… HILARIOUS)

5-I always wanted to try this recipe, but was nervous it wouldn’t live up to the memory hype

7-Because man, this meal screamed comfort food to me. Weird huh?

Okay enough with the numbers. I recently made this for the first time a couple weeks ago. As a child, I thought this meal was the best!! Chicken with a yummy sauce and PINEAPPLE! For dinner!! How fun and fancy is that? However, since I hadn’t had it in years, I was thinking it might not be as good as I remember:)

As I was making this dish, I became really nostalgic – and for a few minutes, I became that little Douglas girl that I once was:) I wasn’t reliving any memories in particular, but just had a flash moment where all of a sudden I felt like I was living years ago. It was like bringing a part of my childhood into the woman I am now.

And so I decided even if this meal wasn’t that good or the hubs didn’t like it – – it was still really special to make and eat. I felt like I was re-living my childhood in a really good way.

As an added bonus – it was DELICIOUS!!! Bryan really liked it too, which is always a plus:)

Waikiki Chicken

from the Douglas family cookbook:)

Chicken:

  • 6 chicken breasts
  • 1 t. salt
  • 1/4 t. pepper
  • 1/3 c. vegetable oil
  • 1/2 c. flour

Sauce:

  • 14 oz. can sliced pineapple
  • 1 chicken bouillon cube
  • 1 T. soy sauce (low sodium)
  • 2 T. cornstarch
  • 1/4 t. ginger
  • 3/4 c. cider vinegar
  • 3/4-1 c. sugar
  • 1 large green or red pepper

Coat chicken with flour and brown on both sides in a large skillet with oil and seasoning. Place browned chicken in a shallow roasting pan or 9×13 pan. (Please note – I cut the recipe in half). Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and make sauce.

Drain pineapple, SAVING the juice and adding water to make 1 1/4 cups of liquid. Set pineapple aside. In a medium saucepan combine sugar, cornstarch, vinegar, soy sauce, ginger, bouillon cube and pineapple liquid. Bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Boil 2 minutes and pour over chicken steaks.

Get ready for an action sequence – old school flip book style

Pour that yumminess on, baby.

Don’t you feel like you’re there?

PS- I want to drink this sauce. Don’t knock it until you’ve tried it:)

Bake chicken steaks smothered in sauce uncovered in a 350 degree oven for 30 minutes.

Now grab your super fresh canned pineapple. Cut your pepper.

Place one pineapple and one pepper ring on top of each chicken breast. And scoop more sauce on top of chicken.

Bake uncovered for 30 more minutes. While that’s baking, cook some rice.

Serve chicken on top of rice (Jackie style) or to the side (Bryan style).

On top of rice is obviously much better

Add more sauce if you want.

And by if you want, I really mean DOUSE your chicken in a LOT of heavenly sauce if you have a pulse.

Yum! Enjoy!

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Dutch Oven and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Add to the conversation...

