Preparation Nazi

So I’ve found that preparation makes my world go ’round. Especially for vacations or trips I am a self designated “Preparation Nazi.”

It all started as a younger gal, who became a world-class bag packer. I am a list maker and would check the weather and makes lists what I would wear. I usually didn’t forget much and I tried really hard not to over-pack! My ability was actually called upon with one of my college housemates (who hilariously enough was always prepared) but would pack 2 hours before we needed to leave and would bring everything except the kitchen sink:) I remember once we were getting ready to leave for a Young Life Fall Weekend (3 days, 2 nights) and my friend set 4 sweatshirts aside. Opposites attract right?!?

Speaking of opposites, my husband is the EXACT opposite (in many things!) but especially packing. Brother would pack 15 minutes before leaving – seriously. However, it drives me so crazy that I usually just pack for him! I love packing and he doesn’t – it’s a win, win!

In the past few years, I’ve noticed I start packing for a trip early because I get SO excited!!! I write out a very detailed packing list and set out clothes on our guest bed. I was completely packed for my honeymoon a month before we were married. But the preparing is part of the fun for me! It’s exciting to imagine wearing a fun dress while on the beach or getting to rock a cute top out to a fancy dinner.

My preparedness has taken some steroids as I’ve gotten older. I LOVE to have certain snacks and treats so I’ll try to make and pack a good mix- healthy snacks, breakfast, granola bars, cookies, etc. Going down to the lake house has given me plenty of chances to work on this skill. Usually I completely plan meals before hand, so I can grocery shop here and we have everything we need (including cookies… Cookies is always a need.)

Some people may be reading this and say- so what’s the big deal? My whole life is like that and it’s easy.

I commend you my friend. There is a part of preparing and packing that I love, but it does not happen naturally and easily. I do it because it makes our trips run smoother and more stress free. I have to prepare ahead of time because I’m way too flaky to have it together. If I try to pack all at once. I would forget something completely obvious. I can serve my husband in creative ways and I do a wife fist pump when my husband asks if I brought something random and I can say YES!

This was not always the case. Trip after trip we would forget important things or just have the bare basics. I realized to kick my butt in gear.

However, even though it can be super fun, sometimes the importance I place on preparing ahead of time can be stressful. I hate how there is usually a thin line between valuing something and getting out of sorts about it.

Like most things in life, our heart is the most important thing. And so when I get stressed I need to step back and evaluate things. Am I packing and organizing ahead of time to serve my husband and help us have a great time? Or do I feel like these are things that NEED to happen and am trying to take control over what may or may not happen?

But once I deal with the heart, I am good to go. (Have I mentioned I LOVE packing?!?) This week I’m actually going over to help a friend pack (read- not throwing everything she owns into a suitcase at the last minute) for a 5 day trip to Yellowstone and she requested I blog about some tips! So come back tomorrow where I will post my packing tips that can hopefully be helpful as vacation season beings!

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Domesticity, Hobbies, Home Management and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Preparation Nazi

  1. Kristin says:

    YES! YES! YES! Love this post. I am excited to benefit from your expertise! Especially on how to not overpack with crazy weather conditions. :)

  2. Molly says:

    I don’t know what kind of a fool would ever pack 4 sweatshirts for a Fall Weekend… you can’t blame a girl for wanting to have choices!!! Good thing I had you to speak some wisdom and call me out on my ridiculousness!

Add to the conversation...

