Chores, Chores, Chores!

I always admire women who can always keep up on their housework. Because…. I’m definitely not one of them. In the past, this had really frustrated me. I really want to honor God in my home and felt I just couldn’t do what I wanted to do. It was easy for me to feel I was a bad wife or homemaker if my house wasn’t spotless all the time. I would feel insecure, judged and could stress out about it a lot.

But after conversations (and repentance) to the Lord and my husband- and lots of idea trading and discussion with good friends, my thoughts changed. Why did I want to keep a clean house? Was it really to love God and serve my husband? Well, sometimes. but often it was because of pride- I wanted people to look at my house and think “Gee whiz, she is just amazing… A perfect homemaker, wife, and Christian!!”

Granted I never would have said that, but my level of stress revealed my sin- that I was putting too much emphasis on something without gospel motivation.

Does cleaning my house honor God? For sure! Does it love my husband? Yeah sometimes!

But it’s ALL about our heart. When I clean my house for God’s glory- it is good and brings him praise!! When I do it for my glory and to make my name great- it’s sin and usurping God’s rightful place as the only God we worship.

And so now, if you come to my house you’ll notice it’s not spotless. There are crumbs on the coffee table and piles of papers on the dining room table. There are roughly 28 pairs of shoes on the main floor. There may be a laundry basket full of clothes by the stairs or dishes by the sink. My goal now is to love and serve God in my home. I would LOVE if I was able to do that by keeping a completely, clean, organized and clutter free home. However, I just can’t do that in my life right now! I want to show hospitality and welcome people in. But more often than not, that means in my messy kitchen or cluttered dining room.

And so, dear woman, I urge you to honor God in your home, knowing that may not always look the way you might think. Seek HIS name and HIS fame… and anything under that motivation you have complete freedom! If that means you eat take out every night and that works for your family – great. If that means you never make your bed and your husband doesn’t care – awesome. Or if that means getting some help to clean or do yard work because that would work best for your family – excellent. There is no “right” way to take care of your home to honor Jesus. Know that every person is different, every marriage is different and your home does not have to look the same as someone else’s!

And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. Col 3:17

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Domesticity, Home Management and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chores, Chores, Chores!

  1. Terri Martin says:

    Oh Jackie……if you only knew how much I needed to read this one! Thanks!!

  2. Kelly says:

    Good to know that someone else struggles with this too! Thanks for posting this.

Add to the conversation...

