South Beachin’ It Up

So the past week and a half Bryan and I started the South Beach Diet!! About 2 years ago I had lost 30+ pounds with Weight Watchers and exercise. Unfortunately with my infertility treatment I wasn’t allowed to exercise and am an emotional eater so ended gaining it all back (plus some- totally annoying!) I’ve been trying to get back on the wagon the past few months with Weight Watchers, but unfortunately it was all for naught. My self control was very low and so the freedom of being able go eat anything I wanted as long as I counted it wasn’t working for me.

I decided I needed a SET diet- literally somebody telling me what to eat for a while so that I couldn’t think that creamy pasta and 12 cookies for dessert was a good choice. We have some friends who rock the South Beach Diet and we both did it soon after we got married, so we decided to jump back on that train. In case you don’t know, the SBD has three phases. There is a 2 week phase where you are jumpstarting your body to get rid of the bad carbs we crave. In Phase I you basically eat lean meats, eggs, lots of veggies, low fat cheeses and nuts. The next phase you begin adding back in fruits, whole grains, etc and then the last phase is the maintenance phase.

So for the last week and a half we have been living in a bread free zone. It has been difficult but not as hard as I thought it would be which is FABULOUS!!! And one of the best things about this diet is that you lose some substantial weight pretty quickly!! They say 8-13 pounds in Phase I and then it obviously slows to a pound or two a week after that, but it’s a good initial motivator to continue!

So- unfortunately I haven’t been having as much of this around…Or thisOr theseThese tooYum, or this.

However I HAVE still gotten to bake a little bit and was shocked and stoked at how it is actually possibly to not eat any of the dough or the finished product. So dear reader, I am planning on still baking and sharing recipes with you. But just beware- you may see more recipes like roasted vegetables, gazpacho or veggie omelets around these parts for a while. Bear with me. And hopefully it will continue to be worth it as my weight can decrease and health can increase:)

But if you’re not me, make this carbo-loaded meal today- baked pasta, buttery rolls and delicious dessert. Enjoy:)

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to South Beachin’ It Up

  1. mag says:

    you got this girl! im facing the same sort of thing, proud of you for doing it! you guys will kick butt! :)

  2. Curry Winters says:

    i think as long as you can still eat cheese you can stop eating anything:) you are doing great…keep it up, not much longer in this phase!!!

  3. steph says:

    too bad you don’t like Jello or Cool Whip (silly girl) – that’s the only thing that keeps me going when I’m craving sweet things – which is pretty much all the time :) Keep up the good work!!

    • jackielopina says:

      I do like jello!! Woo hoo!! Bryan has been rocking the jello and pudding– I’ve done jello a few times… But that chocolate pudding is really where the fun would happen:)

Add to the conversation...

