10,000 Little Moments

My husband Bryan recently brought to my attention an article by Paul Tripp. It’s dated from New Years Eve when all the world tries to make one dramatic resolution that will change everything. (Are you rolling your eyes along with me? No one ever talks about resolutions past January)

Anyway, he reminds us that life is lived in the boring day to day moments. Instead of dramatic decisions, change is caused by 10,000 little moments.

“The fact of the matter is that the transforming work of grace is more of a mundane process than it is a series of a few dramatic events. Personal heart and life change is always a process. And where does that process take place? It takes place where you and I live everyday. And where do we live? Well, we all have the same address. Our lives don’t careen from big moment to big moment. No, we all live in the utterly mundane.

Most of us won’t be written up in history books. Most of us only make three or four momentous decisions in our lives, and several decades after we die, the people we leave behind will struggle to remember the event of our lives. You and I live in little moments, and if God doesn’t rule our little moments and doesn’t work to recreate us in the middle of them, then there is no hope for us, because that is where you and I live.

The little moments of life are profoundly important precisely because they are the little moments that we live in and that form us. This is where I think “Big Drama Christianity” gets us into trouble. It can cause us to devalue the significance of the little moments of life and the “small-change” grace that meets us there. And because we devalue the little moments where we live, we don’t tend to notice the sin that gets exposed there. We fail to seek the grace that is offered to us.

You see, the character of a life is not set in two or three dramatic moments, but in 10,000 little moments.”

And so we can be strengthened, encouraged and challenged. In my life these are the 10,000 little moments that will make a difference:

Instead of resolving once to lose weight, I have to constantly make healthy choices and deny the unhealthy ones. I have to remind myself daily that my body is a temple and I can honor or dishonor God with the choices I make and the food I eat.

Instead of just vowing once to love and serve my husband, I have to fight my selfishness and sin, serving even when I don’t want to. It means making him dinner when I’m tired, staying up late to listen to something he’s learning, and fighting back annoyance and the urge to nag when I’m unloading the dishwasher for the umpteenth time in a row.

Instead of giving in to jealousy and bitterness constantly faced with others’ pregnancies and growing families, tearing up when I walk past the target baby aisle and feeling discontent in my way too quiet house, I can daily lean on Jesus trusting that this is where He has me right now. I can hope in Jesus and know that my place in HIS story is so much better than the place I would have chosen in mine.

What are some of the 10,000 mundane little moments that will lead to sanctification in your life??

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Jesus, Sanctification and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 10,000 Little Moments

  1. Kristin Lewis says:

    so good Jackie. thanks for sharing. : )

Add to the conversation...

