Like any addiction…

My friend Steph wrote a blog post about her 2 1/2 year old daughter’s tendency to have a crib full of stuffed animals, foam letters, zippy cups and beyond. It’s pretty cute… You should check it out:)

She had a sentence in there that just cracked me up:
“Like any addiction, it started out small.”

That got me thinking to MY favorite addictions. Roll call please!
Starbucks. Definitely Starbucks.
Wearing sunglasses- on my face and in my hair.
My Nalgene. Just browsing their new products makes me excited.
Baking blogs.
Crossing things off my to-do lists.
Chunky jewelry.
Thick gel pins.
Packing way ahead of time.
Garlic.
Flip flops.
Browsing the aisles of Target.
Making every chocolate chip cookie recipe I see.

In the vein of the last one… Here’s my most recent:)

Big Chocolate Chip Cookies

adapted from Parsley, Sage, Desserts and Line Drives; as seen on mybakingaddiction.com

Ingredients:

  • 2 sticks cold and cubed unsalted butter
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1 c. light brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 T. vanilla extract
  • 2 3/4 c. all purpose flour
  • 1 t. sea salt
  • 1 t. baking powder
  • 1/4 t. baking soda
  • 2 1/2 c. good quality semisweet chocolate chips or chunks

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or a silpat mat.
  2. Cream butter, white sugar and brown sugar together in bowl until light and fluffy. This may take about 5 minutes.
  3. Add in eggs one at a time, blending after each addition.Add in vanilla and beat until incorporated.
  4. Sift in flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder and mix until just combined. Gently fold in chocolate chips with a wooden spoon or spatula. Dough will be stiff. If needed, use your hands to ensure it is thoroughly combined.
  5. If you want ginormous cookies, weigh the dough into 4 ounce portions and gently roll into a ball. (You will get about ten 4 ounce cookies out of this dough). I have found that people feel guilty eating giant cookies, so I just over fill my cookie scoops for mildly bigger cookies:)
  6. Place each cookie on your prepared cookie sheet and flatten down a bit with your hand. Bake in the preheated oven. If you are making regular size cookies, bake for about 8-11 minutes. If you went giant, bake for about 15-20 minutes depending on how gooey and rawish you like.
  7. Let cool on rack and store what you don’t immediately eat in an airtight container.

Try these cookies for yourself. And… Am I missing any addictions?!?

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Like any addiction…

  1. Meg says:

    I’m with you on many of your addictions, including flip-flops and browsing Target! That store is great — but terrible (for my wallet). And I’m all about chocolate chip cookies, too! How will you ever decide which is best if you don’t try them all?

  2. Curry Winters says:

    I will vouch for these cookies…THEY ARE AMAZING!!!

Add to the conversation...

