Something To Look Forward To

Having something to look forward to makes life so much more fun! I absolutely LOVE vacations – they are such a welcome break in life and it helps to have the exciting anticipation of a big trip coming. As you know, we had a BLAST on our vacations this summer and I was bummed when we didn’t have anything else planned after our June trip:(

My husband was telling me (on our late anniversary date at Carver’s) that he thought a lot about how much fun I had at Disneyworld and wanted to be more intentional about planning fun things for us to do together. This man… I thank God for him every day!

A few days later, as I was cleaning up for Carlie’s shower he said – “So…. what do you think about going on a cruise?”

“WHAT?!?” I asked

“I just thought it would be fun and give us something to look forward to.”

Yes please!! I have never been on a cruise so I was a little hesitant at first. What would we do? Would it be fun? Could we afford it?

Thankfully my husband had done a bunch of research and found a perfect Caribbean cruise! (Pretty inexpensive too! We could get 2 plane tickets, 2 nights at a hotel and a 5 day cruise for less than one plane trip to Hawaii!) We decided to go this winter… so fabulously soon!! And going to the warm Caribbean when it’s cold? BLISS!

Bryan and I realized we haven’t gone on a vacation just the two of us (rather than our getaways at the lake house!) since our honeymoon! I am really excited to spend a week in a tropical location, going on adventures and relaxing by the pool.

So my anticipation is (already) bubbling over and I’ve been pinning cruise-worthy outfits (on pinterest of course!) and bought a floppy hat and summer dress. Perfect timing to catch the end of summer deals!

Truth be told… I already began setting clothes aside to pack:) EEK! So excited for this!!

Have you ever been on a cruise? Any tips for a first time cruiser like me?!?

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Husband, Vacation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Something To Look Forward To

  1. Kimberly says:

    Hi Jackie,

    I went on my first cruise (3-nights) in 1993, didn’t go on another cruise until 2005. Maybe it was 2006, I don’t remember, but I have made up for it this past year where I’ve gone on so many cruises that I’m rarely home. I love cruising so much that I bought a travel agency in 2009.

    I have another cruise booked, and it leaves in 22 days from Athens to Venice by way of the Black Sea. This is the only cruise I’ve taken that I’m not so sure about, mainly due to the weather that time of year there.

    Whatever questions you have I would be glad to answer for you!

    I hope you have a fantastic cruise!
    Kimberly

  2. Brittany says:

    That is exciting Jackie! Where did he find such a good deal?

Add to the conversation...

