An Ode to… Burn Notice!!

My last and FINALE ode of Ode Week 2011 is to my current favorite show, Burn Notice!!!

for my birthday my parents got my season 3 and pre-ordered season 4.

Burn Notice is about a spy named Michael Westen who used to be the best in the biz UNTIL he got “burned” (which means fired in spy-lingo) for things he didn’t do. He was dropped in Miami, Florida where he found his old girlfriend Fiona and an ex-Navy Seal friend, Sam Axe. He’s tries to figure out why he was burned, but in the meantime helps regular people with problems (like if someone pulled a scam and stole their money, things like that.)

Seems simple enough right? This show is action packed and I think it’s so funny!! The writing is witty, characters are so likeable* and let’s be honest – I just love spy things.

My husband and I often watch very different shows. He will watch very serious and sometimes depressing shows that paint a picture of the depths of sin and broken humanity.

I on the other hand? I want to be entertained. I want to watch things blow up, laugh at jokes and see people get help. Also – when I like something I watch it over and over again. Burn Notice is often going on in the background while I’m cooking or baking or cleaning. I go in phrases with my favorite shows. But Burn Notice has been holding my attention for quite some time now. Which reminds me… I haven’t watched it in a while now!

We don’t have cable, so we can’t watch it in TV, BUT we first started because they play old seasons on Star 64!! So I HIGHLY recommend you start watching – either the old or the new! Burn Notice comes back November 3rd. It’s on USA on Thursdays at 10pm.

As a general rule, I don’t like any music by Kesha, Lady Gaga or Katy Perry… but this Burn Notice video to a Kesha song called “This Place About to Blow” makes me smile:)

Yay for Burn Notice!

*note – if you start watching and for someone reason you don’t like the actor who plays Michael Westen (Jeffrey Donovan) but you don’t know why, consider if you are thinking about him from the jerk he played in Hitch OR the mean detective in Changeling. Both of these scenarios literally happened to me (the jerk in Hitch) and my co-worker Christine (mean detective in Changeling). Don’t worry people- he’s just a good actor! Open your minds – in Burn Notice he’s fun:)
About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Ode to… Burn Notice!!

  1. Kristin Lewis says:

    I have you to thank for my love of Burn Notice! Which reminds me, we finished season 3. I will bring it tomorrow! : )

  2. Jill D says:

    I think you know from twitter that I love Burn Notice! HJ turned me to it and Don and I have watched every season since the beginning of the spring to catch up. I can’t believe it starts again in November… thanks for that very important information. Also, Jeffrey Donovan will be in Leo DiCaprio’s new movie… which makes it seem MUCH more appealing to me now! Oh and I think Michael Westen reminds me of a Cali-surfer guy sometimes and Jesse reminds me of a cooler Will Smith :)

Add to the conversation...

