Tasty Tuesday – Double Chocolate Cookies

I have a confession. I’m sharing these cookies because I think I should. I mean double chocolate chip cookies sound yummy right? The only problem is… I wasn’t head over heels for these babies. I made them the same week I made 4 other phenomenally delicious cookie recipes that I posted last week. I’m not sure if the other ones made me swoon and these weren’t as mind boggling in comparison or what the deal was.

I think I was just hoping the would be a little more… how to say… SMACK you in the face chocolatey. These were good! PLEASE don’t get me wrong. I just was hoping they’d be a little richer, a little more chock full of the good things in life (by that I mean chocolate.)

But, the more I’m looking at these pictures… the more I’m remembering how fabulously thick and soft these cookies were. The texture was wonderful. And full disclosure: my husband took one bite and thought these were TOO chocolatey. So there’s  a large possibility I may have just lost my mind.

Considering I told a client that today was Thursday and I have trouble stringing together coherent sentences before 11 am (and after 5pm) that’s a very true possibility.

The truth is, I just don’t know. So will you do me a favor? Please bake these. Tell me if they are too chocolately, not chocolatey enough or just right. We can pretend to be Goldilock’s 3 bears. It’ll be so 1990 of us.

Psst – these cookies freeze amazingly well. I actually scooped them and flash froze them on a cookie sheet before placing them in a ziploc bag to bake a week later. No one was the wiser:)

Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

As seen on My Baking Addiction; a Levain Bakery Copycat Recipe adapted from Parsley, Sage, Desserts and Line Drives

Ingredients

  • 2 sticks (1 c.) unsalted butter- cold
  • 1 1/4 c.  sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 c. dark cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s Dark)
  • 2 1/4 c. all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • 1 t. baking powder
  • 2 1/2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips (I think dark chocolate would be even better!!)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Unwrap your cold butter. Use a paring knife to cut the butter down the center longways. Keep the two pieces next to one another. Turn your knife 90 degrees and now cut every 1/2 inch or so. You want multiple cubes.
  3. Throw the cubes of butter in a large bowl with sugar. Beat until well blended and the mixture begins to become light and fluffy. Add your 2 eggs and beat well.
  4. Beat in the cocoa powder.
  5. Mix in your dry ingredients – flour, salt and baking powder until just combined. You can switch to a wooden spoon here if you’d like. Use your spoon to mix the chocolate chips in.
  6. This dough is VERY stiff. You’ll need to use your hands to make sure it is thoroughly combined:) You can either and do it in the bowl OR pour the dough out onto a cutting board and knead it with your hands there (make sure to take your rings off).
  7. The original recipes made HUGE cookies, but I wanted to make normal sized ones. I just overloaded my cookie scoop a bit (although you could use a medium cookie scoop or just make balls about 2 inches in diameter.)
  8. Depending on the size, you’ll want to bake these for 10-15 minutes. Keep WATCH over the cookies. When the top begins to look dry, they’re done. (Since these cookies are chocolatey and dark already, it’s hard to tell when they’re done. It’s better to UNDER COOK as opposed to over cook).
  9. Let cool on the cookie sheet for 3-5 minutes. Remove to a wire rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container for a few days. If you want to you can place the the cookie in the microwave for a few seconds to make the chips melty:)

Seriously… help a sister out?!?! Report back to me pretty please!

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Baking, Tasty Tuesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Add to the conversation...

