Tasty Tuesday – Hope House Chicken Pot Pie

December is cold. We’ve had a little bit of snow and I don’t have a respectable coat. (My mama is working on that for Christmas! Ha!) When it’s cold, I crave comfort food. To be honest, comfort food for me is chocolate, brownies and christmas cookies. And soup too! I love soup. But this blog post isn’t about that.

Chicken Pot Pie! Another great comfort food. This is a pretty traditional, easy, peasy recipe that is cake to freeze. Whenever I make this, I often make two and stick one in the freezer. Then I can give it to someone who is recovering from surgery or who just had a baby at a moment’s notice!

Once every 6 weeks my community group serves dinner for the local homeless shelter, the Hope House. Henceforth in my world, it’s Hope House Chicken Pot Pie:) This is a pretty general recipe and I’ll often change amounts depending on what I have on hand. Use it and run with it!

Also forgive me for no pictures after it’s cooked. I lost the light in the short winter days:) But I promise the top gets flaky and delicious! you have to trust me.

Hope House Chicken Pot Pie

adapted from multiple recipes found on internet land :)

1 5-6 pound cooked, seasoned rotisserie chicken (you can make your own if you’ve got the time and motivation!! This would be delicious!)

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1 can cream of chicken soup (or celery)

1 large bag frozen mixed veggies

1 t. salt

1 t. pepper

1 t. thyme

1 t. garlic powder

other seasonings like basil, oregano, rosemary, lemon pepper – anything you fancy!

2-3 crescent roll sheets or pie crusts (I think the crescent roll sheets are DELICIOUS! Buttery and flaky)

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grab a 9×13 inch pan and set it aside.
  2. Shred chicken, being careful not to include bones or grizzle (sometimes it can slip in  – it’s a little tricky!)
  3. Add in soups, veggies, spices and mix well!
  4. Put one of the crescent roll sheets or pie crust on the bottom of your 9×13 inch pan. Pour chicken mixture on top and spread with a knife. Put top crust on. Press the edges of the bottom crust to the top crust together. Cut slits to let the steam escape.
  5. Bake for 45-60 minutes. Check after about 30 minutes. If the top is browning too quickly, put foil on top or move the pan closer to the middle/ bottom of the oven. Let cool slightly and serve.

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Domesticity and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Add to the conversation...

