Finding My Style

So we’ve now lived in our house for 3+ years. (And in 2 different apartments for almost 1 1/2 years before that!)

Decorating comes easy to some people.

I am not one of those. Finally, after living completely out on my own, with my sweet hubby at my side do I feel like I’m finding my decorating voice. Decorating is hard because it’s so insanely unique. I love many houses or decorations I see but they just don’t feel “right” to do in my home. It’s a certain je ne sais quoi (which in French means… “I don’t know what” Ha!)

Finding my style has been similar to learning how to cook. I knew I really wanted to do it. So I tried. And failed. And tried. And minimally succeeded. I researched. I tried. I failed. I researched. I tried. I succeeded a little more.

And so on and so forth.

A co-worker asked me once to define the style of my house. I did a miserable job at the time but I’m thinking I could describe it as:

welcoming, lived in & playful; updated traditional with cool, saturated color-neutrals; pops of color and prints

Playful is a new one I am just discovering! I blame it all on these valances that live in the windows in my breakfast nook. I took a risk with the print and didn’t know if it would be too little kiddish and look weird in my home. But I LOVED IT!!! The way these valances look and make me feel makes me want to add a little more spunk to my whole house.

I have been spending some time with one of my new favorite blogs – The Nester. I LOVE so much of her style and she has been empowering me that I really can decorate! Her motto is “It doesn’t have to be perfect to be beautiful.” What a great reminder!

I will always have a “House Projects I Want to Do” list. Hopefully over the next few months, I will be completing some… and of course sharing with you:)

What are some of your to-do projects? If you had to describe your decorating style, what would it be?

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Decorating, Domesticity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Finding My Style

  1. Kate Titus says:

    Your home is always beautiful and welcoming. One of my to-do projects? Get a house. Ha.

  2. Kellyy says:

    I LOVE the Nester!! Except that every time I catch up on her blog I want to re-do my whole house;)

Add to the conversation...

