Thy Only Comfort

One of my New Year’s Resolutions was to read more books. I am so excited that I’ve finished Money: God or Gift by Jamie Munson, The Secret Garden audiobook by Frances Hodgson Burnett AND I just completed A Steadfast Heart: Experiencing God’s Comfort in Life’s Storms by Elyse Fitzpatrick.

Sidenote – I’m currently listening to the Adventures of Sherlock Holmes audiobook and I surprisingly love it. It’s awesome.

Anyways… as the author is wrapping up A Steadfast Heart, she shares a question and answer from the Heidelberg Catechism. I absolutely love it and wanted to share it this morning:

Question: What is thy only comfort in life and death?

Answer: That I with body and soul, both in life and death, am not my own, but belong unto my faithful Saviour Jesus Christ; who, with His precious blood, has fully satisfied for all my sins, and delivered me from all the power of the devil; and so preserves me that without the will of my heavenly Father, not a hair can fall from my head; yea, that all things must be subservient to my salvation, and therefore, by his Holy Spirit, He also assures me of eternal life, and makes me sincerely willing and ready, henceforth, to live unto Him.

Jesus’s blood has fully satisfied the penalty for our sin. God is sustaining us and preserving us so that not a hair falls from our heads outside of His will. What a powerful and good God we serve! Praying this truth can permeate your hearts today and comfort your souls!

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Books, Jesus, Sanctification, Suffering and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Add to the conversation...

