Shrimp Enchiladas

Mexican food is one of my favorite food groups in the world. I don’t think it’s technically a “food group” but – in my world, it is. We have TWO go-to Mexican restaurants in our town. One is deliciously gooey “American” Mexican food. I order a fajita style dish with seasoned chicken and veggies drenched in queso sauce… drool. The other restaurant is more traditional, fresh deliciousness. My favorite thing to order is chicken tacos, complete with chopped onions and cilantros and served on corn tortillas.

Yum. Can I eat Mexican now please?!?

I don’t even try to make THAT kind of Mexican at home. I would fail miserably. However, in my long term plan, I do want to shop at the Mexican grocery store and try to buy authentic ingredients. That’s the biggest missing link. Hence, one more reason I want to learn Spanish:)

So when I make Mexican food at home, I try things that are a bit different. These shrimp enchiladas fit the bill! I apologize my pictures are pretty awful. I made these during a week where I was never home in good light times. My bad. If you want to see good pictures, go to Annie’s Eats:)

Shrimp Enchiladas

slightly adapted from Annie’s Eats; adapted from My Kitchen Cafe

Ingredients:

  • 3 T. butter or olive oil, divided
  • 1 lb. medium-size shrimp, peeled and deveined (I used frozen cooked shrimp!)
  • 1 bell pepper (red or yellow!)
  • 1/2 of an onion
  • ¼ t. oregano
  • ¼ t. salt
  • Dash pepper
  • Dash garlic powder
  • Dash cayenne pepper
  • 2 t. all-purpose flour
  • 6 T. heavy cream or half-and-half
  • ¼ c. sour cream (or do more heavy cream/ half and half)
  • 6 oz. shredded cheese (such as Monterey Jack, Pepper Jack, etc.), divided
  • 1 can diced tomatoes or 1 cup tomatoes, seeded and diced
  • 8-10 (8-inch) flour tortillas

Directions:

  1. (If you need to cook the shrimp – melt 1 tablespoon of butter in a skillet. Cook shrimp in even layer for 1-2 minutes, then flip over and cook 1/2-1 minute more. Remove to a plate and set aside to cool. Chop if desired)
  2. Preheat the oven to 350˚ F. Spray 9×13 inch pan with cooking spray. Dice bell pepper and onion.
  3. Add 2 T. butter or olive oil in pan. Add bell pepper, onion and cook until tender, about 5-7 minutes. Add the spices and flour. Stir with a wooden spoon and cook for about a minute or two.
  4. Decrease heat to medium low and add heavy cream to the pan. Cook until slightly thickened, but not evaporated – about 1-2 minutes.
  5. Remove the pan from the heat. Add in the sour cream, half the shredded cheese, tomatoes and shrimp. Mix together until well blended and the cheese is melty.
  6. Scoop about 1/3 of a cup of the filling/ sauce mixture down the center of a tortilla. Roll the tortilla tightly around the filling and place seam side-down in the prepared baking dish. Repeat with the remaining filling and tortillas.
  7. Sprinkle cheese on top and any remaining filling if desired. Spray the tops of the finished assembled tortillas lightly with cooking spray.
  8. Bake uncovered for about 30-35 minutes, until lightly browned. Let cool at least 5-10 minutes before serving.


About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Domesticity. Bookmark the permalink.

Add to the conversation...

