Back to Cookies… Oatmeal Rainbow Ones!!

WHEW. What a crazy few months right?

Sometimes I get insecure about posting some of the most inward thoughts and sorrows of my heart. (Because if the world doesn’t know about them, you can just pretend it’s not real life, right? …. Right?!?) I often look back over the past almost 3 1/2 years and wish I had done things differently… not the physical steps we took, but emotionally. I don’t feel like I’ve suffered as well as I would have liked to. And while that may be true, I know that God is using this battle raging in my heart and my life to draw us toward Him and make us more like Jesus.

And I am SO thankful for you all reading and your encouraging comments. I appreciate them SO much. Even when the blogosphere sharing sometimes scares me, it makes my heart swell when I read that our journey has encouraged some of you and brought you closer to Jesus. Thank you for reading and being a part of things!!

And now back to the fun things my blog can bring:)

In my world,

that’s cookies.

These cookies are chock full of brightly colored m&m’s and given a punch of texture with quick cooking oats.

I love a good chocolate oatmeal combination.

Especially when the chocolate is candy coated… m&ms are one of the most bake able candies in my opinion:)

And the dough is phenomenal too.

Oh yum.

Not that I would know.

But come on…

Don’t they just look beautiful?

Even the little cookie bottom is cute!

Bake some with me, won’t you?

Oatmeal Rainbow Cookies

Adapted from Cowboy Cookies III at allrecipes

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 c. salted butter ( 1 1/2 sticks)
  • 3/4 c. white sugar
  • 3/4 c. brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 T. vanilla
  • 2 c. flour
  • 1 t. baking powder
  • 1 t. baking soda
  • 2 c. quick cooking oats
  • 2 c. M&Ms

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grease baking sheets.
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then stir in vanilla.
  3. Sift in flour, baking powder and baking soda. Stir together with a wooden spoon.
  4. Pour in oats and m&ms and stir together until combined.
  5. Use small cookie scoop to scoop dough out on cookie sheet. They won’t spread much, so you don’t need to put a ton of space between them. Bake at 375 for about 7-9 minutes.
  6. Take out of the oven when tops are set and very lightly browned. Allow cookies to continue cooking on baking sheets (out of the oven) for about 5-6 minutes, then use a metal turner to quickly take off of cookie sheet and let cool completely on wire cooling rack.

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back to Cookies… Oatmeal Rainbow Ones!!

  1. Kristin Lewis says:

    Mmmmmm. These are soooo good. I could eat a million! Oats and chocolate are a great combo!

Add to the conversation...

