Don’t Ignore That You Can Help

(This week is National Infertility Awareness Week. The past week I’ve posted posts on the topic of “Don’t Ignore Infertility.” I encourage you to go back and read them if you’d like.)

I know many of the posts I shared this week were big things NOT to do. I sincerely hope I did not leave you feeling frustrated and that there is nothing you can do to help your infertile friend. Because although you can’t give her a baby, there is a lot you can do to support her through this trial.

If you’re new to the blog or just haven’t gotten around to reading it yet, I wanted to share my series on Loving Your Friend Through Infertility.

In walking through infertility, I have been unintentionally hurt by some people and deeply loved, comforted and encouraged by others. I’ve learned a lot about suffering in general and how important it is to be kind, compassionate and sensitive to those walking through this battle. My aim in this is for people suffering to be loved deeply and pulled closer to the cross of Jesus because of the way their friends love them. I long for those people to never hear the hurtful words and flippant comments that can happen.

And I know as a friend, you can feel lost and confused as to what your infertile friend needs. I want to empower you to run swiftly toward Jesus and bring your suffering friend with you. And as someone who has been blessed by friends that have carried me through – – thank you in advance for learning and growing and seeking to love your friend more. You can’t imagine how a shoulder to cry on and a comforting word from a friend can carry through a number of dark days…

If you know someone struggling, read it for them. If you’re going through infertility, read it for you and pass it on to your friends and family so they can be there for you more. If you don’t yet know someone who suffering with infertility, read it anyway. It will remind you that childbearing and childrearing is never a guarantee and even if you’re one of the lucky ones, you gain compassion and empathy for those whose path is a heartbreaking one.

Loving Your Friend Through Infertility


About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Infertility, Loving Your Friend Series, Sanctification, Suffering and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Add to the conversation...

