5 Sweet Years

Today my husband and I celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary.

Each year I become more grateful to be his wife. Each year our marriage grows deeper, becomes more joyful than I ever thought possible. At the time, our wedding seemed to be the happiest day I could ever dream of… I couldn’t imagine loving him any deeper. But oh, only 5 years later the love we shared then felt like a drop of water in a bucket. The deep unity and intimacy we’ve gotten the joy to experience is such a gift. God has been so gracious in giving us marriage and in granting me my husband, my leader, my partner, my best friend.

In the past 6 months we have been growing even closer in emotional intimacy and I feel like my words pale in comparison to the groanings that live in my heart. My husband, I am oh so thankful for you. My God, you pour out Your love and mercy in that man… thank you so much for him and the vast undeserved gift our marriage is to me. You show me so much of your goodness through our marriage covenant.

The majority of our marriage, suffering has been a landmark. Infertility has marked us for 3 1/2 years now. And even though infertility and our miscarriages have thus far been the heartbreak of my life, I am so thankful for what it has done for our marriage. I’m so thankful that God stripped me to my core and brought up issues in my heart that I didn’t even know existed. Our marriage has been strengthened through suffering. My husband’s need to love me well and point me to Jesus and my need to submit to his gentle beckonings to the cross and hold fast to our hope even when I felt there was none were both amplified. Our marriage grew leaps and bounds in the process.

In only 5 short years.

Dear God, my mind can’t comprehend what our marriage could look like in 50 years. By your grace alone. Your hand has done so much and I ask for your continued blessing on our marriage… that we can grow individually, grow closer together and that our marriage shouts out so much glory to your name.

Thank You for your unmerited favor.

Related Posts:

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Husband, Infertility, Marriage, Sanctification and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 5 Sweet Years

  1. Christy Connell says:

    Beautiful. Now I can say happy Anniversary! ;)

  2. Mom says:

    Happy 5th Anniversary Jackie & Bryan!!! Hard to believe it’s been 5 years. We love you guys so much.
    Love, Mom & Dad

Add to the conversation...

