Working on Resting

That seems kind of counter intuitive doesn’t it?

In the last few months, I’ve been blown away at how hard it is for me to rest. I’ve been convicted that when we don’t have rhythms of work or rest, we don’t do either well. A wise counselor recently told me “If you’re not able to step in and then step out, you can never fully step in.” Wow. We think we’re too busy to rest or we’ve got too much to do… but when we never step out, we’re never fully present in any of the things we spend time doing.

I don’t know about you, but I definitely find that in my life. There will be weeks where I feel tapped out. I feel like I’m working a ton, but when I’m at work I’m distracted with other things that need to be done, but then I get home and I’m so exhausted that I never do those things and the cycle continues. I’m not resting well and I’m not working well. It’s easy to feel we “Don’t have time” to rest, when in actuality carving out time for rest makes sure our soul is taken care of and actually makes us MORE productive!

Our culture thrives on busy lives. Even if we don’t admit it (or don’t know it) many of us find our worth in being “so busy” or having “so much to do.” We think that the world will implode if we stop.

Over and over the last few months I’ve been convicted, challenged and encouraged on my need to rest – really, really rest. This is one of the biggest things I seek to work on in the next 6 months to a year (although obviously to “get it down” will take much longer.) I’m still learning a lot about this, but it benefits me greatly to write things down as I process. And hopefully as I do that, it can help you too:) Throughout the week I have a few thoughts to share as I’m processing through what it looks like to cultivate rest in my life and in my heart.

Here they are:

  1. The Need for Rest
  2. Why We Don’t Rest
  3. The Redemptive Grace of Resting

My prayer is that God will continue to reveal to me the importance of resting and what a redeeming grace it is in our lives. And I pray that you’ll join me and that God can be revealing the same thing to you too!

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Sanctification and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Working on Resting

  1. Steph says:

    We started our series on rest last week at Sojourn. One of my favorite things that Kevin said was that even when we think we’re resting, we’re actually just recovering. We push ourselves so hard and then crash. Having regular rhythms (like you said) are so important. Are you guys jumping in on this series at The Oaks?

Add to the conversation...

