Thursday Things!

Happy August!!!

My husband loves these oatmeal rainbow cookies.

And because of that, I have to literally hide candy when I buy it for baking.

Guess who finally learned to do a french braid!! HOLLA! Like literally learned how to do it 2 weeks ago. It’s PERFECT for exercising when a headband and ponytail gives me a headache.

I have a new favorite pizza crust that I’ll share soon. And I especially LOVE how homemade pizza crust seems fancy, but basically you just have to pour some stuff in, mix and wait for an hour and a half. So if you can stay at your home for a couple hours you can make pizza dough:)

20120802-073144.jpg

Also I have been staying up so late to watch the Olympics. I literally haven’t gone to bed before midnight since last Thursday night (yawn!) But… USA! USA! USA!!

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Pictures, Random, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thursday Things!

  1. Kate Titus says:

    Think I need to try those cookies soon….your ingredient list says butter but the directions say shortening. Could you use either or should it be butter?

    • jackielopina says:

      Oh good call! Thanks for the heads up. I just switched them so both say butter. I personally prefer butter, but you could totally use either! Good luck! Hope you like them:)

      • Kate Titus says:

        sweet.

      • Kate Titus says:

        Trying it tonight – mine are not turning out as pretty as yours (flatter/browner), but they taste good. I think I like the dough even better. :) I’m not sure what I do wrong with cookies sometimes. Two theories: (1) I’m never sure how much to soften the butter, if at all, and I’m afraid I soften it too much (but how would you beat it until fluffy if it’s not soft?). (2) I never learned how to sift flour. I learned from my mom, who just used a spoon/cup to dump some into the measuring cup. I don’t know if that’s even remotely close to how it’s supposed to be done. True story.

        • jackielopina says:

          Couple things that may help. 1 – It is EASIER to get cookies fluffy and soft with butter-flavored shortening. I like the taste of butter much better, but only switched over in the past couple years. The way I soften butter though is to put it in the microwave (with the wrapper on) for 7 seconds. I turn it on it’s side and do it another 7 seconds. I will check it and do another turn or two. Basically you want it soft enough you can put a thumb in it and leave a dent, but not so much it’s mushy or melty. (If you want, just leave out a stick of butter on the counter for a couple hours in the AC and you can see how soft it should be.) 2 – Thats a good way to get it int he measuring cup! I use my metal strainer to sift. So I put that in a large bowl, then add in the measured flour, baking soda and whatever else is supposed to be sifted together. I then bring the strainer out a few inches and shake to get the flour through. It will aerate it and make it fluffier. (Here’s the type of strainer I use in case you can’t picture it – http://www.amazon.com/OXO-Grips-8-Inch-Double-Strainer/dp/B00004OCLX/ref=sr_1_3?s=home-garden&ie=UTF8&qid=1344390406&sr=1-3&keywords=large+metal+strainer ) 3 – Sometimes cookies aren’t very fluffy because your baking soda is old. 4 – I find my cookie scoop helps make cookies thicker. 5 – Silpat mats make cookies cook AMAZINGLY! Also when you slightly underbake, it will help that beautiful color.

          ________________________________

        • jackielopina says:

          Good luck! Keep baking. Practice makes perfect:)

          ________________________________

Add to the conversation...

