Reflections After a Fitness First

On Saturday my husband and I ran our first EVER 5k!

I realize there are people who run a 5k distance a few times a week or even daily. But I am not one of those people. In fact if you would have asked me to run a 5k 3 months ago, I literally would have fainted while trying (and probably after 1/2 mile).

I hadn’t run since I was a child. And even then I was terrible at it. In middle school, my brother and I joined a swim team and went for the first day of practice. All we did was run around the outside of the building. We both quit that day.

There have been a few times over the past couple years that I’ve started running. It was going okay, but it’s always a challenge for me to know what to do without a plan. A few months ago, Bryan suggested we do the Couch to 5k plan. I’m motivated to get healthy and work out more so I said, why not?

The first run we ran for a minute, then walked for a minute and a half. And I felt miserable after every single minute. Our runs got longer and longer… I remember running a mile and thinking – this is the first time I’ve done this in 15 years!

As we kept up with our training my husband suggested that we actually do a 5k. The sound of it terrified me but I figured – why not? As it got closer, I was getting nervous. But it was coming whether we were ready for it or not!

AND WE DID IT!

I was expecting it to be really hard and it was even harder than I thought it was going to be. It was crazy hot – like 90 degrees and muggy. The first mile we ran a little too quickly for me and then the 2nd mile was all up a gradual hill. Hills are a big struggle for me, so I tapped out pretty quickly during that long hill. I was running so slow, but I didn’t stop running. My poor husband wanted to stay with me so he walked beside me (yes while I was running… I was literally that slow) for like half of the race. I told him I felt bad for making him go slow but he said “I just don’t want you to quit.” What a man. I kind of cried over his sweet servanthood (or maybe because it was so hard.) And he’s right. Without him I would have quit.

But we both finished! And definitely felt accomplished. As of now we’re planning on continuing running and have at least another 5k that we want to do in October!

How great is it to finally have a t-shirt for a 5k that you actually ran?!?

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Hobbies, Husband, Working out and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Reflections After a Fitness First

  1. Christy Connell says:

    So impressed! Great job! Love that you could do it together!

  2. abbrogle says:

    I’m so PROUD of you! Even though I like to run, it’s never easy. I remember one 5K Alex ran with me and yes, he could walk beside me while I was running as well. In fact I think he bought cheese curds and was eating them while walking beside me:) Anyways, so happy for you…such a great accomplishment!

  3. Steph says:

    Way to go! As a fellow total non-runner I’m SO proud of you and encouraged that I can do it too. Remind me I said that in the spring ;)

  4. Congrats on your first 5k! It is pretty great! Somedays it is easier than others to get out there and do the miles. :)

  5. Brittany says:

    Way to go Lopina’s!!! So great that you did it and are already planning for another one! I bet October will be much more enjoyable than a sticky August day.

  6. Curry says:

    So funny that your number tag says “it’s who I am”…you are a runner!!

Add to the conversation...

