10 Things I Wish I Knew Before Starting a Blog

1. It’s important to have a good focus. Like really, really important. When I first started my blog I was all over the place. I wrote different types of posts and you wouldn’t really know what to expect when you happened upon my blog. And even though I still throw in a bit of randomness, I have a clearer cut focus about what my blog is about and the purposes behind content I share.

2. It’s an investment of your time and energy… and you have to decide if it’s worth it. Blogging takes a lot of time, energy and forethought. Sure it can be a good idea… But you have to decide if it’s the right idea for you in your current stage of life.

3. You will have times when you have too much to say it’s hard to write anything. Sometimes I have exactly 8,628 ideas for blog posts. But then of course I have no time to write them or when I want to write out one thought, more ideas keep coming and I’m completely distracted.

4. There will be times when you have absolutely nothing to say. Writer’s block is normal. For a while I would try to push through but it was frustrating for me and I don’t feel like my content was that good through it. I hoped it would pass and – what do you know- every time it does. Just ride it out.

5. Readers can be unpredictable. Sometimes I write a post I think people will enjoy and I get no feedback or decreased views. Sometimes I share something that is just for me or what I think is not that big of a deal and it gets a lot of commentary.

6. If your writing is anything but authentic it shows. Honestly for a while you can get away with it. But if you’re not offering your readers real authenticity then I don’t think they’ll keep coming back. You have to make it worth it for them.

7. People can act weird around you when they read your blog. I have so many people use the words “I’m a stalker and read your blog.” So funny! News flash – I totally realize my blog is public. If you read something on here, you don’t know anything more than what I want people to know. Now if you were driving by my house and following 20 paces behind me in grocery stores and at work? That’s stalking. And yes I do have a problem with that. :)

8. Sharing on a blog gives a unique little window into your life. A blog is mostly a way one window. Sure, people can post comments and share things about their lives, but it doesn’t happen as frequently as the blog author does (duh). It’s interesting to navigate as people know things about you and you don’t know much about them. This hasn’t necessarily been awkward or uncomfortable, it’s just different and unforeseen.

9. You can really have an impact on people if you share things about your life- especially difficult things. Sharing intimate details about my life- namely infertility – makes me very vulnerable. It is difficult! I’m not going to sugarcoat it. However I have had the most positive feedback on my blog from those posts. I’ve had people share encouragement or that they’re praying for us. I’ve also had the joy of people sharing that posts had helped them in some way- maybe to not feel alone or convict them of sin or help their friends/ family support them better. That touches my heart every time.

10. If you don’t love doing it, it’s not worth it. It has to be something you enjoy doing in order to keep it up. It’s time consuming and can sometimes be emotionally overwhelming- but it can have big payoff. Both for you, as you share and process through life, and for those you share it with.

Thanks for sharing this journey with me dear readers!!

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 10 Things I Wish I Knew Before Starting a Blog

  1. Kate Titus says:

    Wait…so you want me to STOP following you around the grocery store? ;)
    Good thoughts – thanks.

  2. Hi. I was roped-in, er… encouraged to start a blog just last night, and your article was very timely. It just popped up here. I thank you for sharing your insights! I really mean it and am not just saying it so I can steal your Triple Coconut Cupcake recipe! :)

  3. Pat says:

    Jackie, you are such a gifted writer and I love reading your blog. I appreciate your willingness to be vulnerable and to share Jesus with others in your joys and struggles. I always look forward to new posts!

Add to the conversation...

