A New Beginning

Today is a new beginning for me: the start of a new job.

With a bittersweet heart, I recently resigned from Help Me Grow after spending the past 5 1/2 years there. I loved that job and even more than that love, LOVED the people I worked with. It was just a blessing to be able to be there for so long and build so many solid friendships that I know will continue.

I learned so much there – both professionally and personally. I’ve gained so much knowledge, leadership and experience. I’m thrilled that I’m able to leave my job like this. It’s not because I don’t like it or don’t like the company or management or anything like that.

I’m just ready for a change in my life.

I know there are people who work much harder than me and I’m not seeking sympathy, but I’ve worked my tail off there. I’ve given my time, my energy, my heart and my soul. And unfortunately that’s been difficult on me and my family. It’s hard to make dinner for my husband when I work until 6 every night! I needed a change.

I realized this about 6 months ago. On a whim, I interviewed for another job. I didn’t think I’d get it, but then after I interviewed I got so much positive feedback, I thought it was going to happen! I was getting REALLY excited and was very disappointed when it didn’t work out. I felt God nudging me that it was time to move on… but just to keep my ears open. That position wasn’t what He had for me.

And so a few months later, another opportunity fell in my lap. It seemed like something I would like and could use my skills differently, which would be exciting. I discussed the possibility and found out they were changing the job and now needed someone with a different background.

I was so confused! I felt God nudging me to pay attention when something came along. I did that and nothing changed! I was disappointed and feeling slightly without direction. Should I stay and be committed here or pursue other options? Ideally, I’d love to work less, so we even batted around the idea of just working part-time in a coffee shop or something. (Although that would have been rough on our budget.)

Well after that conversation, someone mentioned they thought I’d be great at another job. I didn’t know much about the position so I wasn’t too excited about it at first.

I read more about it and saw a part time position… I figured, what the heck? This could be great! I interviewed for it and the more I learned, the more excited I got. It would be about 4 days a week and the thought of having an extra day just FLOORED me!

Long story short, I was offered the job and heartily accepted. This is a new step in my life, a breath of fresh air. I’ll get off work around 4; I’ll only work 4 days a week. Think of how much better I’ll be able to serve my husband and take care of our home. Think of how much more time I can spend with people, how much more energy I’ll have for investing in relationships!

Last week as I finished out my final home visit for Help Me Grow, my heart just swelled. God’s goodness was so apparent to me that I couldn’t help but praise Him. He is so gracious in providing me an opportunity that is even BETTER than what I originally wanted. I felt like He pulled back the veil briefly and allowed me to see what He had been doing this whole time.

That thought transcended over into our infertility. God very blatantly showed me “You wanted this job 6 months ago and were crushed when I didn’t give it to you. But just wait… I have something so much better in store.” Working 4 days a week is such life to my soul. Jesus knew what I needed. He knew the perfect time to give it to me. And even though I totally don’t get it, I know that’s what He’s doing in our infertility too. He’s showing me “Just wait… I have something so much better in store.”

I’m so thankful for a God whose Fatherly love never lets me just have what I want…. but allows me to experience short term pain for deep, sweet, joyful long term rewards.

Reveling in his goodness, mercy and kindness today…

(I’ll share more about my new job later this week!!)

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Infertility, Jesus, Outpouring of Grace, Sanctification, Work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A New Beginning

  1. abbrogle says:

    Can’t wait to hear what’s coming…so happy for you! You will LOVE having the extra time:)

  2. Sarah Cosper says:

    Praying for you all. Excited to hear about your new job!

  3. Thanks for the last full paragraph- I needed that reminder!

  4. Steph says:

    so excited for you, friend! Congrats again :)

  5. Michelle says:

    This is really great news! Congrats Jackie!

  6. Amy Douglas says:

    Hope the new job is going well! Hope we can see you again soon!

Add to the conversation...

