Tasty Tuesday – Pumpkin Chocolate Chunk Bars

I love Fall and I’m digging our weather. But unfortunately the “fall decoration motivation bug” hasn’t hit me yet. I still have my summer mantle, wreath and other decorations up and to be honest, my floors need to be cleaned like whoa.

The floors are my absolute, absolute most despised chore. I’m not quite sure why. But I’d rather do 20 loads of laundry, clean my bathroom 3 times and iron for 2 hours than clean my floors. It’s not that difficult, but it’s just annoying. And honestly, if I’m in my kitchen, there are things I’d rather be doing… like baking pumpkin chocolate chunk goodies.

This is a new recipe I made that reminded me why I absolutely love the pumpkin chocolate combination. They’re fairly cakey, but nicely dense as well. I brought these moderately warm to community group and the gooey chocolate chunk was amazing. However, they were also a PERFECT after work snack served room temperature. These are so good.

So good in fact, they might even make me stop procrastinating and go clean my floors. That is, unless I find something else new to bake…. Please tell me you have a chore you procrastinate on too!

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bars

As seen on Two Peas & Their Pod; Recipe from Martha Stewart

Ready in about an hour

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. (2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 1/4 c. granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 T. vanilla extract
  • 1 c. canned pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 2 c. all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon pumpkin-pie spice [or 1 1/2 t. cinnamon, 1/2 t. nutmeg, 1/2 t. ground cloves, 1/4 t. ginger & 1/4 t. allspice]
  • 1 t. baking soda
  • 3/4 t. salt
  • 1 package (12 ounces) semisweet chocolate chips or chunks

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray pam or spread foil on the bottom of a 9×13 glass baking pan and set aside.
  2. Beat butter and sugar on medium high speed in a large mixing bowl until light and fluffy. Beat in egg and vanilla until thoroughly combined. Add in pumpkin and mix. The mixture may look curdled or a bit weird.
  3. Sift in flour, spices, baking soda and salt. Use a wooden spoon or mixer on low speed to mix in dry ingredients until just combined. Add in chocolate chunks and stir until combined.
  4. Pour in your pan and use the back of a spoon to spread out.  Maria’s directions say to bake bars for 35-40 minutes. When I made them, I made them in 2 8×8 pans and mine were done in about 20-25 minutes I think. They’re done when the tops are brown and the edges begin the pull away. A toothpick inserted in center should come out with only a few moist crumbs attached.
  5. Let cool briefly. If you’d like to serve warm, cut with a plastic knife. Otherwise, let cool completely. Cut and serve.

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tasty Tuesday – Pumpkin Chocolate Chunk Bars

  1. Kate Titus says:

    These look amazing. I was going to make your pumpkin chocolate chip cookies this week, but now I’m conflicted. :) p.s. the apple-chicken sausage harvest chili thing you posted last year is finally making an appearance at my house sometime this week. I’m excited!

  2. Baking is THE BEST procrastination activity! I have had to enter into a discipline of studying in public places to keep me accountable because, when I study at home, I invariably end up washing my sheets/cleaning the shower/eating some cheese/baking a cake/watching terrible youtube clips instead of hitting the books. These look absolutely amazing. Pumpkin puree is not an Aussie ingredient … is there anything added to the stuff you can buy over there or can I make my own by simply pureeing pumpkin? x

Add to the conversation...

