Adoption Milestones- Our Book

IMG_7860 copyBWLast week we completed a huge milestone- we ordered our adoption book! I’ve spent the majority of the last few weeks on this project and it was such a relief and joy to hit the “order” button!

It’s a bit overwhelming to think about trying to capture your life in a photo book… and knowing this is what the woman who is carrying your child will see to choose you as parents.

More than once I had to stop and say “God I know you are sovereign and I am so thankful that it is not on my creativity or this picture or wording or font that will bring our birth mom to us, but You.”

And in case you haven’t noticed I’m a bit wordy… Which I do NOT consider a good thing when you’re looking through multiple books. So I recruited friends and family to critique and help.

One entire triad my sweet friends Curry and Missy just helped me edit my book. They helped me simplify and clarify and were just awesome. They spent about 20 minutes helping me figure out how I wanted to say this one sentence in my Dear Birthparent letter on the front page. My sweet hubby gave me lots if encouragement and helped me cut things down too (and filled in his parts really well!)

And a HUGE shout out goes to my little sister (in law), Kim. Our agency recommends having a high schooler look at the books to get a younger perspective. With almost no notice, Kim met me after school (and before Young Life) and was big help. She changed some of the wording, noticed a couple things that were repetitive and gave me some good perspective throughout. She even helped me find new background on the four pages I was apathetic about! By this time my eyes were about to fall out from looking at it constantly so I was so grateful for her help and her unique perspective! Thanks Kim!

Our books arrived last night… here is all 27 of them:)

IMG_1798

And here are a couple snapshots of pages for you all to preview!

IMG_0009 IMG_0001 IMG_0003 IMG_0007


One step closer…

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Adoption, Family, Friends, Sanctification and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Adoption Milestones- Our Book

  1. Kristin Lewis says:

    Jackie, this book looks perfect! You guys did a great job! I cannot wait to see The Lord grow your family! Always praying! :)

  2. Adrien Segal says:

    That is beautiful, Jackie! You and Bryan and the child God has in mind for you have been in my prayers for a long time. How sweet to see the way God is working. Anticipating with you….

  3. Christy Connell says:

    They turned out awesome! eek!! :)

  4. em says:

    i want to read the whole book!! praying for you sweet friend. seasons like this are hard to be far from you guys. but i love you and am excited to see what the Lord has in store!

  5. michelle says:

    the book looks great and I especially like the picture of you guys in the rocking chair with the little chair next to you. so sweet and i love the anticipation of who will be there soon…

  6. maureen says:

    Love this!! I am so ridiculously excited for you guys! Your book looks wonderful, and I am so excited for what the Lord is going to do! Praying for the little one that’s coming.

Add to the conversation...

