The Story of Our Son – The First Meeting (Part 3)

IMG_8016 bw copySo we’re up to the point in our story where we just got to the hospital. We sat in the waiting area with the social worker where she walked us through what she knew (not a ton at that point) and we discussed what would happen next.

Then, she asked “Want to go meet him?” Of course! This is what we’ve been waiting for!! We scrubbed in and walked to his space. I’m not quite sure what I was expecting but I was so surprised at how beautiful he was. It completely caught me off guard. He was just a handful of hours old! How come he wasn’t a typical wrinkly, bruised up, old-man-looking newborn? Those cheeks, that button nose … This mama’s heart melted into a puddle.

I couldn’t take my eyes off him. They were getting ready to take him downstairs so we had to wait a bit to hold him. We were with him every step of the way and when we got back, it was time.

Soon enough, he was in my arms for the first time. His eyes were open and he stared at me. “Hi!” I said as tears began clouding my vision, “I’m your mommy.”

It was an indescribable, amazing feeling. Three hours before we had no clue about him and now he’s here, in my arms. And all feels right.

20130406-064949.jpg

Bryan was talking to the social worker a bit and I was in my own little world, completely engrossed in this little boy. It really was as if everyone and everything in the room blurred and it was just us. Time stood still. When they were done, Bryan sat next to me and we took our first family picture.

IMG_2693

My husband is amazing and gave me ample time. Then he got to hold our son for the first time. I’ll never forget that. He was just looking down at him, tears filling his eyes. I asked “Want to look up for a picture?” He shook his head, “No. Not yet.”

IMG_2673

From then the fun began. We got to hold him and feed him and change him. We talked to the nurses a lot and discussed how he’s doing. We spent as much time with him as possible. Happy tears were my new constant companion.

On Tuesday his birth parents visited which was special and I’m so glad of that for him. It was also wonderful to meet them and thank them deeply.

The next day would be the most important. The day where he could become ours or be gone forever.

To be continued…

Related Posts:

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Adoption, Our Son, Outpouring of Grace and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Story of Our Son – The First Meeting (Part 3)

  1. Christie scholl says:

    Jackie, reading this I’m crying tears of joy! That feeling of holding your child for the first time is indescribable. I’m so thrilled for your family and will continue to pray for an easy transition to life at home!

  2. Man that is beautiful!! Especially the part with Bryan wanting to just look at him. Phew.

Add to the conversation...

