What’s in a Name?

I love hearing how people got their baby names so I wanted to share how we decided upon our son’s name!
20130622-144813.jpg

Interestingly enough, we never really talked about baby names when we were trying to get pregnant. I thought about them and tried to get Bryan to talk about them. But he just… wouldn’t. The best he could do is jokingly say, “Larry! Larry Lopina.” After which I would end the conversation promptly. :)

I had a girls name I loved and Bryan liked it too so that was decided fairly quickly. When we got matched I found the perfect middle name with a rich, beautiful meaning. We had our girl’s name!

A boy’s name was a different story though. There were a couple we each liked but none we were sold on. Then Bryan said “I don’t know if this sounds weird, but I’d kind of like to name him Bryan. It would be really cool to have another Bryan Lopina.”

I wasn’t too sure at first. I was worried it would be confusing and I didn’t just want to call him Jr. or something. But the more I thought about it, the more I loved it. Especially with adoption- he doesn’t have our genes but he has his father’s name. We long for him to carry on the legacy of faith we have started for our family.

And we also figured- if we’re on the fence at all, we should go ahead and do it. It doesn’t really have the same impact if the second or third born son has the dad’s name:)

So it was decided! We had a first name. We had been throwing around different middle names, not too sure what to pick. The day we got matched the first time we went out to eat with my parents to celebrate. They mentioned Robert which got us thinking about it again. Robert is my dad’s name, my brother, Bryan’s late grandpa’s name and Bryan’s brother. We talked about it a little more on Tuesday although our birth mom thought she was having a girl, so we thought we wouldn’t have to figure it out then.

However, we were all wrong!

Wednesday was the gender ultrasound which showed a boy! We were going out to eat with Bryan’s brother Rob afterwards. I said “Can we tell him the name we’re thinking of?” “Let’s not tell until we’re decided,” Bryan said. “Oh. I think I’m decided. Are you decided?” “I’m decided! So is that his name?” “Yeah!”

And there it was. In the table at Skyline, without many words, we named our son Bryan Robert. Now with adoption some people encourage you not to talk about names in case the adoption falls through. We both felt adamant that our son’s name would be Bryan Robert- even if that baby wasn’t to be our son.

And as you know, that first baby was not to be our son. After the birth mom changed her mind, we knew that wasn’t our Bryan Robert, but we prayed we’d get him one day.

When we got the call about our baby, I remember the social worker mentioning “he.” “So it’s a boy?” I asked. “Yes,” she said. Ahh, here was our sweet son… the one we would get to raise.

The birthparents had asked us if we could use Wayne for the middle name. It was the birth dad’s middle name. Of course! What a tribute to them AND I love how Bryan’s whole name is after men in his life in one capacity or another.

Bryan Robert Wayne, may you know you are so loved by so many and walk in the footsteps of many men who have gone before. I pray you use that as a strong starting place and go on to do huge things.

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Our Son and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What’s in a Name?

  1. Lizzie says:

    Hey Jackie!
    I’ve been reading your blog for a little while now and just wanted to say thank you. I was directed to it to read the ‘loving your friend through infertility’ series. It was excellent and a good source of healing for myself too. I have had a great interest in names lately and thought I’d just share my blog post about it here. It has been amazing to me how through my own losses, Christ has been glorified. I know you can appreciate the pain I’ve had in those losses.

    So again, thank you for this blog and that series particularly.

    Lizzie
    http://themanyexperiencesofalifetime.blogspot.com/2013/04/rachel-loss-turned-to-gain.html

    • jackielopina says:

      Hi Lizzie! Thanks so much for reading and I’m so thankful my blog has helped some healing through loss and pain. I really appreciate the encouragement. Prayers for you

  2. michelle says:

    I love this! I was hoping you’d share how you decided on his name…thanks for sharing it so beautifully! I love that he will carry on your family legacy with his name.

Add to the conversation...

