Just In Case You Think I’m a Kitchen Wizard… (A Yummy Peach Blueberry Crumble After the Madness)

Peach Blueberry Crumble from Hoping in God

I have been LOVING peaches recently. I decided to bake something delicious with them and when I saw a crumble from Brown Eyed Baker I knew that was it. We were having a couple over for premarital counseling so it was perfect. The first thing I noticed was the steps were a little different than I was used to. Pre baking the crumble? A little unique but I was sure it would be great.

Peach Blueberry Crumble from Hoping in God

I started making the peach filling and it looked delicious. Crumble time! Every crumble is about the same so I went about my business. This recipe called for me to put it on parchment paper and bake. Also I doubled the crumble because that’s the kind of girl I am:) I popped it in to bake and went on with the rest of the dinner.

I opened the oven door to check on it a few minutes before it was done and low and behold! It was a melted mess! The bits of crumble had melted into one sheet and about 1/4 of it had dripped onto the bottom of the oven. Fantastic. I tasted it to see if we could still get away with using it and although it tasted a bit caramelly it was rubbery and I didn’t think it would work. So this is why you don’t make new recipes for company! Ha!

Thankfully I had made other crumbles that worked out so I quickly got out one of those recipes (which had oats in it- my favorite way!) The crumble ended up being DELICIOUS!! The inside was delightful and the oat topping on the top was perfect.

Peach Blueberry Crumble from Hoping in God

If you’re brave- try to make it the original way… I’m sure mine was a total fluke!!

Peach Blueberry Crumble from Hoping in God

And the best part of the story? I was cooking something the next day and my oven caught on fire. Yeah. Guess I probably should have cleaned that sugar butter mixture up. Whoops. Luckily myself and my oven got away unscathed. My fire alarm went off and my baby didn’t even wake up. So that’s a win. Although I was jumping up and down with pillows trying to wave all the smoke away. I’ve had finer moments.

Peach Blueberry Crumble from Hoping in God

Peach Blueberry Crumble

Fruit Recipe from Brown Eyed Baker
Crumb Topping from startcooking.com by Heidi Adkisson

Ingredients For Filling:

  • 2 pounds fresh peaches – peeled, pitted and sliced 1/2- 3/4 inch thick
  • 1/3 c. sugar
  • 1 1/4 t. cornstarch
  • 1 T. lemon juice
  • 1/4 t. cinnamon
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • 1 c. blueberries

Ingredients For Topping:

  • 1 c. old fashioned oats
  • 1 1/2 c. flour
  • 1 1/3 c. firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1 t. salt
  • 2 t. ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 t. ground ginger
  • 1/2 t. ground nutmeg
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter

Directions:

  1. Peel and slice your peaches. In a large bowl, gently toss the peaches and sugar and let stand for 30 minutes, stirring occassionally.
  2. When done, preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  3. Set a colander over a bowl. Drain the peaches, reserving the drained juice.
  4. In a small bowl, whisk together 1/4 c. of drained peach juice, cornstarch, lemon juice, cinnamon and salt. (Throw away any extra peach juice).
  5. Return the peach slices to the large bowl. Pour juice mixture on top. Pour blueberries in and gently fold all together. Spoon or pour mixture in 9×13 inch pan.
  6. Make your crumble. In a medium sized bowl, pour in oats, 3/4 c. flour, brown sugar, salt and spices and mix.
  7. Cut the stick of butter lengthwise (like folding a piece of paper hot dog style!). Turn it and cut the butter crosswise into little cubes of butter.
  8. Transfer butter to the bowl with dry ingredients. Use your fingers to work the butter into the mixture. You want the butter to stay cool, so work quickly and don’t over mix. You won’t the mixture to be similar to wet sand, forming moist clumps when it’s ready. I like there to be some big chunks.
  9. Sprinkle crumble over peach/ blueberry filling. If it seems full, place a cookie sheet underneath to protect your oven if it bubbles over.
  10. Bake at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes or until topping is brown and peaches are soft. Serve warm with ice cream.
About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Baking, Domesticity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Add to the conversation...

