When The Storms Hit

The longer you’re on this earth, the more you realize things don’t always happen like you hope they do. Illnesses happen, death of a loved one is inescapable. We all experience some of our own personal tragedy.

It can be so easy to feel alone and isolated in that and assume everyone else has it easy. But that’s not the case at all. And when you open up about your struggles, you find that out.

It can be easy to feel so out of control when suffering hits. The bad news? You ARE out of control. The good news? Your life is in the hands of a loving Father who only wants the best for you. However He knows sometimes the only way to get it is through pain.

There are a lot of things I could say about suffering- it’s just a season, you’ll grow so much, you’ll be able to help other people, blah blah blah. But I won’t. Because even if those things are true, when you’re suffering they don’t feel true. All I can say is Jesus is the same yesterday, today and forever. He loves you. Cling to him in your sadness, your grief, your pain. He will never forsake you.

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Sanctification, Suffering and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When The Storms Hit

  1. Ray and I lost our first baby when she was born too prematurely to survive. It was the most horrible suffering we’ve ever known. But losing Becky has enabled me to weep with those who weep with the comforting tears of one who has experienced that deep and awful loss. It’s a wound that–by God’s grace–has never fully healed so that I can truly empathize with others out of the very real pain I still feel. Talking about my loss puts me in touch with the unhealed part of the grief and loss that will always hurt until I see my daughter again in heaven. One of the most incredibly comforting things we can ever experience is someone else’s tears for us. So when I say to a mother or father who has also lost a child, “I hurt with you, because I’ve lost a precious one too,” my tears bring warmth and comfort in a way that someone who has never known that pain cannot offer.

    • jackielopina says:

      I am so, so sorry to hear about your loss. I totally agree that experiencing a sharp loss like that changes you. That empathy brings comfort unlike any others. Thanks for sharing

Add to the conversation...

