31 Days: What I’ve Learned (Day 31)

31 days

So honestly this is a little bit of cheating since I’m writing this ON my 31st day… but, come on! I feel like I’m grasping for straws on my last few and I wanted to blog this anyone so I decided to include it in the 31 days.

What I’ve Learned from Writing on Creativity for 31 Days:

It was hard! I was a little surprised how challenging it was to write on one topic for 31 days. Honestly I picked my topic somewhat randomly. I had been thinking about how important it is for me to use my creativity in my life and how different it had looked since becoming a stay at home mom. And so I said – hey! I’ll write on this. I think in the future I’ll write on something that I have A LOT to say (like infertility and adoption!) That would make it easier.

It was good for me to write more often. I used to post 5 days a week. I would spend a few hours on Sunday writing and a few other times editing and posting throughout the week. I loved those hours. Writing is therapeutic for me and it has definitely taken the back burner since Bryan came along.

It’s okay to write short posts. Almost all my posts were much shorter than I usually blog. For some reason I have this magic “500 words” (no more than 750) and thats what I usually aim for.

Writing on one topic is stretching. I often write what I write and that’s that. When given the task of writing on one topic for 31 days, I had to work hard and dig deep. I ran out of what I thought I had to say in less than 10 days. After that I had to think outside the box and figure out what I could say

I’ll do it again. All that to say, I enjoyed this exercise and I hope you enjoyed reading it. Next year I will be taking the challenge again!

About jackielopina

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in 31 Days. Bookmark the permalink.

Add to the conversation...

