Tasty Tuesday – Waffles

My hubby’s bday was yesterday. I LOVE celebrating him!! It’s rather funny because I think birthdays are a BIG deal and Bryan is pretty chill about them…. so it’s a funny mix when we celebrate our birthdays together:)

I took the day off to hang out with him (4 day weekend – HECK YES!). I saw this recipe by joy the baker for brown sugar bacon waffles. First I thought it sounded weird but then recently I saw it again and it sounded decadent! I’ve been thinking about them for the past week. I thought my husband would like them so I excitedly asked him if he’d like me to make it for him for his special day.

His answer?

“Bacon isn’t really an ingredient to put in things. Can we just have plain waffles with bacon on the side? Bacon is just so good on its own.”

My practical husband. Sometimes I have to restrain my food adventures for this guy:) And especially since it was for his birthday, I responded

“Sure honey!”

(And plotted in my mind who I could make the brown sugar bacon waffles for that would be head over heels excited about them.)

But back to the waffles….here’s the recipe adapted from allrecipes.com

Basic Waffles

2 eggs, separated (whites from yolks)

1 3/4 c. milk

1/2 c. vegetable oil

1/2 to 1 t. vanilla

2 c. flour

1 T. brown sugar

4 t. baking powder (OR 1 T + 1 t.)

1/4 t. salt

1/2 t. cinnamon

sprinkle of nutmeg or other spices

(a note about this recipe – the reviews online had said it was not sweet enough and to do 1 T white sugar, 1 T brown sugar and 1 t. vanilla so that’s what I did! I thought it was good, but Bryan thought it was a little too sweet. Brown sugar adds more depth so next time I’ll only use 1 T. of that and probable use 3/4 t. vanilla)

Dust off that forgotten waffle maker!

Beat your egg WHITES until there are stiff peaks (meaning when you take out the beater the egg whites stay in a pointed fashion and don’t fall over.) This step can take a while.

While that’s happening, go ahead and begin preheating your waffle iron. Sift your dry ingredients (flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, spices) in a medium sized bowl and set aside.

Whisk your egg YOLKS in a large bowl with milk, vegetable oil and vanilla. Add in flour mixture and whisk until combine. Then fold in the egg whites and whisk until fully incorporated.

Spray your waffle maker with Pam and go to town! I put a little over 1/3 c. batter on my waffle iron and it was perfect!

One note about waffles – if you throw them in a 200 degree oven to stay warm like pancakes they’ll get soggy:( BOO! Try to serve them as quickly as possible.

With butter and syrup of course!! How great is this smiley face?!? This is totally how I feel about carbo-loaded breakfast foods.

And since it was my sweetie’s b-day I added a festive touch:

with the promised bacon

Birthday breakfast served by an apron clad wife singing “happy birthday” at the top of her lungs. That’s how we roll in the Lopina household.

About jkl

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Baking, Domesticity, Holidays, Husband, Tasty Tuesday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tasty Tuesday – Waffles

  1. Amy Douglas says:

    Your brother will eat bacon in anything and everything…lol

  2. em says:

    i love that you do the candles like that… like kind of backwards, but so cute. day birth happy bryan!! :)

Add to the conversation...