Crockpot Potato Soup

Crockpot Potato Soup from Hoping in GodThis picture is kind of yucky but this soup is really good!!! I’ve been changing a lot about the way I run my home in 2014 (cleaning calendar, cooking more often, staying in budget)  and it has been working out so well! I hope to write a few posts on all that in the near future. I feel like I often try new things and they flop 75% of the time. Which happens you know? So it’s okay. But it just makes it all the more a miracle when 75% of the things I’ve been trying since the new year have WORKED! It has been so encouraging to me! One of the biggest shifts for me has been the budget. My husband and I have basically spent 6 years of our marriage having 2 incomes. Even after Bryan was born and I stayed home, since I was paid on a school year, I continued getting a paycheck for about 6 months (it was a huge blessing!)

But that’s the case no longer. And man it has been a huge paradigm shift going from a loosey goosey budget to having to count pennies and not being to able to buy things you want or need because you’ve spent your money this month. NOW! Please don’t get me wrong. We are super blessed financially and are able to eat well and go out to eat some and buy some non-essentials… we are not struggling. But compared to living with two incomes and no kids? One income for 3 people (and 2 people staying home and eating at home all day!) is rough!

I’ve been cooking a lot more since I’ve been staying at home and two things I’ve been doing are

  1. Cooking big portions that my baby and I can eat for lunch for days and
  2. Trying to start cooking a few “meatless meals.”

The second one is so hard!!! This was my first successful one that I felt was filling enough for my meat-loving hubby. And it was YUMMY!!! I’ve made it twice since then. It’s super filling and makes for great leftovers! And is delicious with bacon on it… meat free… or maybe just not mainly meat:)

But help me out!! What are your favorite meat less? Or what are some of your favorite cost effective meals? 

Crockpot Potato Soup

slightly adapted from I Heart Naptime

Ingredients:

  • 4-6 medium potatoes, peeled and diced in 1/2 – 1 inch cubes
  • 2 cans cream of chicken
  • 1 can cream of celery
  • 2 cups half and half (could also do milk, if trying to be healthier)
  • 6 T butter
  • 1/2 t. pepper
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1 t. onion powder
  • 1 t. garlic powder
  • 1/4 t. cayenne
  • 1/4 t. thyme
  • 1 1/2 cups grated cheddar cheese (plus additional for sprinkling on top)
  • 1 bunch green onions thinly sliced (about 1/2 cup -optional, for serving)
  • 4 strips bacon (optional, for serving)

Instructions

  1. Place potatoes, soup, half and half, butter and spices in crockpot. Stir. Cook on low 6-8 hours (or high 3-4). Check potatoes about an hour or two before you want to serve and make sure the potatoes are cooked through. If not, turn up to high, or if already on high, cut potatoes smaller.
  2. About 15 minutes before serving, preheat oven to 400 degrees and cook bacon in 400 degree oven for 10 minutes or until crispy. Let cool briefly and crumble bacon. Set aside.
  3. Stir cheddar cheese in soup. Taste and adjust spices if needed.
  4. Ladle soup in bowls, sprinkle additional cheese on top with green onions and bacon and a dash of extra pepper.

Note: This can EASILY be made on the stovetop in about 30 minutes. Chop potatoes and add all ingredients in large stockpot or dutch oven. Boil for about 20 minutes or until potatoes are cooked throughout. You may find they will fall apart and you will have smoother, less chunky soup in this method. 

About jkl

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Crockpot Potato Soup

  1. abbrogle says:

    Love this…I can’t wait for your posts and can totally relate! Although we’ve always lived on one income I can remember when we were first married and if I went over budget we started he next month under. I learned pretty quick:) although I’m still working on that one…groceries are insane! For meatless meals we have a potato leek soup we love, we try to eat spaghetti and sauce once a week and at least twice a month. Nothing fancy. I also cook a lot of Mexican food with just black beans. Annies eats tortilla bake is really good. Oh and pizza night! Again annies eats thin crust and deep dish pizza taste best to us with just cheese so these work for a meatless meal too:)

  2. Michelle says:

    We do mostly meatless meals, usually eating a lot of beans. Black bean and corn burritos (just heat black beans, corn, salsa, and cheese in a skillet and put in tortillas); black bean soup, rice and beans etc. There is also corn chowder, broccoli and cheese soup and veggie quiche. I also try to throw in a lot of vegetables in place of meat like in pasta dishes and soups. Grilled vegetable sandwiches in the summer and my absolute favorite vegetarian recipe: Zucchini Garden Chowder from the cookboook Simply in Season. You can google it but if you don’t have that cookbook you need to get it! It helps you cook recipes from what is in season. There are a lot of yummy vegetarian recipes in there but lots that have meat too. The less meat I cook, the less we miss it, even my husband who loves it.

  3. emily weller says:

    I need tools to help me with this. I use saymmm.com to plot my meals on a calendar and shop for two weeks’ worth of meals. It’s not too rigid, because I feel like I can switch meals around pretty easily. But it helps me see what I’ve made recently and remember recipes we liked, and it helps me to know that we had something over a month ago, even though it feels like last week :) I also try to “double-up” on ingredients, so making homemade pizzas one week and stromboli the next helps me use up some items. As far as budgeting, I know you weren’t asking about this, but we just started using YNAB (You Need A Budget) to help us track our spending and I LOVE it because I can use it on my phone :)

    As far as recipes, feeding a hubby is hard! Dan’s equation is often meatless = not a meal :) So I’m with you. Here’s a couple we like:

    http://tastykitchen.com/recipes/main-courses/quick-and-easy-roasted-red-pepper-pasta/ (Though I have added chicken sausage for him)
    http://tastykitchen.com/recipes/soups/tortellini-soup-6/ (I’ve added chicken to this too, but with the filled tortellini it doesn’t feel as light!)

    Love you friend!!

    em

    • jackielopina says:

      Excellent! You are amazing. This is EXACTLY the kind of stuff I was talking about. I LOVE seeing what other people use to be successful! Thanks so much for all the tips!!
      Love you!!

  4. Marianne Yale says:

    Use homemade cream of celery , and instead of cream of chicken, use chicken broth, heavy cream or sour cream.

Add to the conversation...