12 Days of Christmas Cookies: #11 Rolled Sugar Cookies!

Merry Christmas Eve!!

To celebrate I wanted to share my go-to sugar cookies. The name is this recipe is literally “The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies” so I’m not bragging when I say – in my experience – they really are!

As we all know, making and decorating sugar cookies is an experience! If you’re like me – the next couple days are packed full of family, church and fun. BUT if you happen to have an afternoon free today or tomorrow… making Christmas sugar cookies is the perfect thing to top off your celebrating! Don’t worry about making these babies look perfect – grab your husband or your friends or your kids (or yourself!!) and have some fun! :)

Also – my 12th and LAST day of Christmas cookies won’t be tomorrow… my baking upon baking caught up with me and I still have some wrapping to do before the big day! Please look forward to  Chocolate Caramel Cookies with Sea Salt in the upcoming week… perfect for your New Year’s Celebration!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

from allrecipes.com

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups butter (3 sticks), softened
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 5 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
 Directions:
  1. In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until smooth. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Stir in the flour, baking powder, and salt. Cover, and chill dough for at least one hour (or overnight).
  2. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Roll out dough on floured surface 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick. Cut into shapes with any cookie cutter. Place cookies 1 inch apart on ungreased cookie sheets.
  3. Bake 6 to 8 minutes in preheated oven. Cool completely. Ice with your favorite icing or the one below.

Sugar Cookie Icing

From allrecipes.com

Ingredients:

  • 2 C. powdered sugar
  • 1 T. + 1 t. milk
  • 1 T. + 1 t. 4 light corn syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
  • assorted food coloring
  • various decorations – nonpareils, colored sugar, red hots, etc

Directions:

  1. In a small bowl, stir together confectioners’ sugar and milk until smooth.
  2. Whisk or beat in corn syrup and almond extract until icing is smooth and glossy. If icing is too thick, add more corn syrup or milk. If too thin, add more powdered sugar. (I always end up adding more powdered sugar and/or milk… it’s a bad habit of indecisiveness – ha!)
  3. Divide into separate bowls, and add food colorings to each to desired intensity. Pipe frosting on, dip cookies, or paint them with a brush. You could also pipe the outline on, then make a thinner frosting and flood them if desired. (This is the fancy schmancy type decorating – there is a GREAT tutorial here.)

I sincerely hope you and yours have a wonderful Christmas. I pray this will be a time that leads you to worship Jesus – the baby who came in a manger, fully man and fully God who grew up to ultimately die on the cross for our sins and was victoriously raised from the dead, conquering sin, satan and death. Praise the Lord!

About jkl

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Baking, Holidays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 12 Days of Christmas Cookies: #11 Rolled Sugar Cookies!

  1. Megan Hamby says:

    How many cookies does this recipe make? I’m making them for husband’s elementary-aged students to decorate on the last day of school! Thanks — Merry Christmas!

    • jackielopina says:

      Oh gosh I’m not positive the exact number (and it obviously depends on how big your cookie cutters are.) However the batch is very large!! It should be plenty for a classroom — I doubled it once and there was so much batter my mixer put off this burning smell! Haha! Good luck and I hope they turns our wonderfully for you. Let me know how they are!

      • Megan Hamby says:

        Okay, so I actually made 4 batches of this so we would have enough for several classes (he directs the after-school program) – 270 cookies and they are DELICIOUS. I was exhausted after making them all, but they taste so much better than already prepared dough. Thank you SO much for this recipe!

  2. Laura says:

    Fell upon your blog looking for a sugar cookie recipe to make/decorate with my two year old! Now I’ve been immersed in your adoption story. God is good, oh so good! He’s absolutely beautiful.

  3. Julie Iles says:

    I’ve made this recipe a couple of times and it is great!! Thank you so much for sharing it!

    • jackielopina says:

      Aww yay! So glad you like it! I don’t make sugar cookies all the time, but it is SO NICE to have a fail proof go-to recipe in your pocket for the times when ONLY sugar cookies will do! Thanks so much for reading and commenting! :)

  4. Chamoye says:

    I will make rolled sugar cookies for halloween.

  5. amanda says:

    Is the dough supposed to be really soft at first like really sticky

    • jackielopina says:

      Yes! Thats why I like to put it in the fridge – – best if overnight. That really helps the stickiness. If you need to roll them right after you make the dough (although I wouldn’t necessarily recommend it) you can roll the dough in between two sheets of parchment paper. It will still definitely stick but might be a little easier. (Ps – sorry for responding almost A YEAR late! Hopefully if you make these again this Christmas it will help!)

Add to the conversation...