Tasty Tuesday – Browned Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

I love making chocolate chip cookies.

I made Alton Brown’s chocolate chip cookies a while back. It is a different recipe and uses melted butter and bread flour.

The only thing that I didn’t like about the recipe is that you are supposed to let it chill in the refrigerator for 36 hours (or at least 12!) before baking. I am way too impatient for that!! So a few times I made them I broke the rules… shhh! Don’t tell Alton please.

But here’s the thing. Over time (pun) I realize the time really does make a difference. When I made an adapted version of those cookies last week, I (finally) followed the rules and let them chill in my fridge for 36 hours. I mixed up the dough Thursday night and baked them up on Saturday morning. And let me tell you – WOW! There is some magic that happens in the refrigerator that makes these cookies the perfect texture, thickness and consistency.  These cookies were perfection. Chewy and soft, thick and nutty. Yummy, oh-so yummy.

Oh – and did I mention this recipe includes browned butter? Browned butter is a new “trend” in baking. This is actually the first time I browned butter recently, but it brought back so much deja vu and didn’t feel new – so I’m convinced me and my mom used to make something with browned butter all the time growing up. Basically it adds a little extra heartiness. It’s warm and nutty. And it makes these cookies magnificent!

Trust me.

Plan ahead of time and make these cookies. And don’t be like me. Follow the rules. Your belly will thank you in the long run.

Browned Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Slightly adapted from Under the High Chair; Adapted from Alton Brown’s lengendary chocolate chip cookie recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 2 sticks unsalted butter (1 cup)
  • 2 1/4 c. bread flour
  • 1 t. salt
  • 1 t. baking soda
  • 1/4 c. sugar
  • 1 1/4 c. brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2 T. milk
  • 1 T. vanilla extract
  • 2 1/4 c. semisweet chocolate chips (or any combination of chips, chunks or candies you want!)

Directions:

  1. Melt butter in a medium sized skillet over medium heat. Cook slowly and stir often. It will bubble and that’s good. You want the butter to get a nice amber color. It will smell heavenly:) Once butter is done, pour it in a small bowl or a measuring cup. Set aside and let cool.
  2. Sift together flour, baking soda and salt.
  3. Pour the delicious browned butter goodness in a large bowl. Add the brown and white sugar. Use a mixer and beat on medium or whisk strongly until well combined. You want to make sure the butter is a bit cooler and the mixture is thoroughly combined so I don’t have to remind you of my fear of melted butter cooking eggs.
  4. Once we’ve passed that, please add in your egg and egg yolk. Save your egg white to make angel food cake or for a healthy breakfast! Add in milk and vanilla extract and mix well.
  5. Slowly incorporate the dry ingredients. Mix well, but make sure not to over mix.
  6. Stir in chocolate chips.
  7. Next we need to let the dough chill in the fridge for 36 hours. You can either cover your bowl with plastic wrap and pop it in there or make your dough into a ball and wrap plastic wrap around it. I chose Option B:)
  8. Let dough chill out for AT LEAST 12 hours, ideally for 36. THIS IS IMPORTANT!!!
  9. When you’re ready to bake, preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Line two cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  10. Using a cookie scoop or spoon, scoop medium sized portions of dough and place on baking sheet.
  11. Bake for about 5 minutes, then rotate your baking sheet. Bake about 3-5 minutes more.
  12. Pull these cookies out of the oven when they still look a little doughy on top. Let them cool on the baking sheet for 5 minutes then move them to a wire rack to cool completely.
  13. Store in an airtight container for up to 5-6 days.

About jkl

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Add to the conversation...